LinuxQuestions.org

LinuxQuestions.org (/questions/)
-   Slackware (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/)
-   -   "fresh" 14 64bit install over 13.37 64 bit install and files, conf etc remain (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/fresh-14-64bit-install-over-13-37-64-bit-install-and-files-conf-etc-remain-4175455294/)

plisken 03-23-2013 04:17 PM

"fresh" 14 64bit install over 13.37 64 bit install and files, conf etc remain
 
I've had some troubles with a recent install of 13.37 on new hardware so gave up and done a full install of 14. I chose this over upgrading (despite recommendations) as I prefer to start fresh, not having any old and possible rogue configurations lying around.

So anyway, went through the installer, doing as I always do, I redone my partitions and done a "quick format", past the point of no return I'm thinking but then at the lilo config stage I could view my old lilo.conf file I thought, ahh, perhaps the installer keeps copies of such files, as I had repartitioned and formatted, obviously the /etc/lilo.conf file couldnt possibly still be there so I went on and rebooted and as I sat pondering what movie I would watch tonight, it dawned on my, "he I hadnt been prompted to set a root password, strange..."

But it got even stranger when I logged in and found my desktop and files all where I had left them!!!

Whats the deal, is the "quick format" option, not really a format at all?

On further digging, my partitions were not resized either.

This was the kind of thing I thought I was avoiding by going down the fresh install route as opposed to upgrading.

Any thoughts?

psionl0 03-23-2013 11:48 PM

It depends on which program you used to reformat your drive but with fdisk you have to write your changes before exiting or they won't happen.

plisken 03-24-2013 05:09 AM

I've done many installs but thus has never happened before.

I've actually repeated the install and the same thing has happened, so totally confused.

I use cfdisk so in my case cfdisk /dev/sdb and for sure hit write after changing sizes and this time chose "slow format with bad block checking".

But still when it gets to lilo configuration part I can view my old lilo.conf file and no prompt for root password etc.

Certainly strange...

plisken 03-24-2013 06:12 AM

3 times was too much, so onto another hard disk she went and fine as initially expected.

The only thing I can think is that there is/was a ntfs partition on the previous drive, but really shouldnt have made any difference.

I definately chose write to write the partition size changes in cfdisk and also chose "slow format" but the old files remained.

Puzzled but not pondering over it, up and running with 14 so lets see what there is to moan about now.

O BTW, the /boot partition which was ext3 was clean but the / and /home which were reiser didnt, if that means anything to anyone.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 AM.