LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2009, 05:34 AM   #1
glore2002
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Distribution: Debian Lenny AMD64
Posts: 506

Rep: Reputation: 32
Does CTRL+ALT+F1 work as it should on Slackware64 13?


If I press CTRL+ALT+F1 to get to a terminal (eg. to install nvidia driver), sometimes I get the terminal screen but no cursor. So, I have to go back to X. My system boots up directly into X so I can't get to a terminal by logging out (I guess). Is there a way to make sure I can get to a full terminal screen?

Thank you!
 
Old 08-31-2009, 06:20 AM   #2
mRgOBLIN
Slackware Contributor
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Location: New Zealand
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 999

Rep: Reputation: 227Reputation: 227Reputation: 227
if you are in runlevel 4 there is only CTRL+ALT+F6

Log in as root and do
Code:
telinit 3
After your NVidia install you can either reboot or do
Code:
telinit 4
 
Old 08-31-2009, 07:08 AM   #3
GazL
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2008
Posts: 3,367

Rep: Reputation: 904Reputation: 904Reputation: 904Reputation: 904Reputation: 904Reputation: 904Reputation: 904Reputation: 904
The fact that the gettys aren't started on tty 1-5 in runlevel 4 does seem to catch people out from time to time. One of my post-installation customisations is to edit /etc/inittab to add them all back into that runlevel.

Is the small amount of resource that the gettys would take really worth disabling them in runlevel 4? People do expect the login prompts to be there when they ctrl-alt-f?.

I'd suggest it's worth adding them back in by default to reduce the risk of confusion to less experienced slackware users who may not even know what a getty is.
 
Old 08-31-2009, 07:20 AM   #4
glore2002
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Distribution: Debian Lenny AMD64
Posts: 506

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 32
Thumbs up

Thanks my friends!
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CTRL+ALT+F1....F6 don't work abd_bela Debian 4 02-03-2012 04:21 PM
Ctrl + Alt + F# does not work mpajoh Fedora 3 01-08-2007 12:20 PM
CTRL+ALT+F* Terminals don't work sekelsenmat Mandriva 3 11-26-2005 03:46 AM
ctrl-alt-F<n> doesnt work maginotjr Slackware 16 07-01-2005 01:04 PM
dark screen when pressing Ctrl + Alt + Backspace or Ctrl + Alt F1-F6 in Gnome or KDE trinoo Slackware 5 01-28-2005 08:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration