LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-29-2003, 08:27 AM   #1
dibyendra
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Nepal
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: 0
Lightbulb Mounting NTFS


Hi there,
How to mount the NTFS partition in Red Hat Linux 9?
Thank you
Dibyendra
 
Old 08-29-2003, 08:56 AM   #2
arunshivanandan
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: Kerala,India
Distribution: RedHat,Mandrake,Debian
Posts: 643

Rep: Reputation: 30
download and install the rpm for ntfs support.
http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/info/redhat.html
 
Old 08-29-2003, 08:59 AM   #3
Andy@DP
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Posts: 208

Rep: Reputation: 30
First you need to get the NTFS support RPM and install. Get from here: http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/
Once thats done create a mount point in /mnt/
We'll call it partition so command to use is (from root)
mkdir /mnt/partition

Then to mount by command
mount -t ntfs /dev/hdxx /mnt/partition

the hdxx must be correct for your machine, hda for primary, hdb for slave thats on ide channel 0. hdc and hdd are channel 1.

the second x is the partition number, you can find that out by using fdisk or guessing... thats what I did. If its a logical partition chances are it will be 5 or 6, primary partition 1 or 2. But check first using fdisk -l (small L not number 1). That will give list of partitions.

If you want to auto mount at boot alter the /etc/fstab file.
Add the line

/dev/hdxx /mnt/partition ntfs auto,ro,umask=0222 0 0

I think that should work!

Last edited by Andy@DP; 08-29-2003 at 09:01 AM.
 
Old 08-31-2003, 06:53 PM   #4
dibyendra
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Nepal
Posts: 11

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
It Worked

Thanks Andy@DP,
IT worked.Thank you all .
Dibyendra
 
Old 08-31-2003, 07:28 PM   #5
SiZaint
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 9.2
Posts: 36

Rep: Reputation: 15
is there a way to mount it in read-only so i dont mess up my windows files?
 
Old 08-31-2003, 09:52 PM   #6
Mathieu
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Distribution: RedHat, Fedora, CentOS, SUSE
Posts: 1,403

Rep: Reputation: 46
To mount in read-only, use the ro option.
For example:
Code:
mount -t ntfs -o ro /dev/hda1 /mnt/windowsXP
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ntfs Mounting sri_hassan Fedora - Installation 2 11-24-2005 02:16 AM
mounting NTFS gnu4world Linux - General 2 05-21-2003 01:50 AM
Mounting NTFS tspauld98 Linux - General 3 08-04-2002 02:46 AM
Mounting NTFS sami Linux - Newbie 4 06-25-2002 12:24 PM
mounting ntfs starbreaker Slackware 3 06-02-2002 10:43 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration