LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2003, 06:58 PM   #1
Tuvok
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: FreeBSD 6.1, NetBSD 3.0.1
Posts: 170

Rep: Reputation: 30
Java, Konqueror & Mozilla


I have in the past managed java to work with Mozilla through unconventional methods. I have never managed java to work with Konqueror. Today, I have managed java to work with both Konqueror & Mozilla through conventional methods.

First, create (as root) a "java" subdirectory in the /usr directory. Download the self-extracting (not RPM) file of j2re-1_4_2 from Sun. Move (as root) the file to /usr/java. Cd (as root) to the /usr/java and issue the following 2 commands:

chmod a+x j2re-1_4_2-linux-i586.bin
./j2re-1_4_2-linux-i586.bin

Read the instructions and choose "yes" to untar it. When done, issue this command:

ln -s /usr/java/j2re1.4.2/bin/java java



Now, to set java to work with Mozilla, issue (as root) this command:

ln -s /usr/java/j2re1.4.2/plugin/i386/ns610-gcc32/libjavaplugin_oji.so /*/libjavaplugin_oji.so
*Your Mozilla plugin directory

To set java to work with Konqueror, make (as user) path to java executable (KDE Control Center->Internet->Web Browser->Java):

/usr/java/java

Good luck :-)

Last edited by Tuvok; 09-06-2003 at 05:37 AM.
 
Old 08-30-2003, 01:01 AM   #2
mr_ouija
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Slackware 9.1
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: 0
Oh man, you're a godsend. I've been fighting with that one for awhile now. Worked like a charm with MozillaFirebird.
 
Old 08-30-2003, 01:08 AM   #3
Tuvok
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: FreeBSD 6.1, NetBSD 3.0.1
Posts: 170

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
mr_ouija, glad it worked for you.

:-)
 
Old 09-26-2003, 01:40 PM   #4
slayerboy
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: 0
stumped.....

shouldn't java show up in the plugins directory when I go to Help -- About Plugins? how do I know if it works?



Edited:

NEVERMIND THIS!

I got it to work...I have Mozilla 1.0 and used ns610 instead and it worked awesome!

Last edited by slayerboy; 09-26-2003 at 10:52 PM.
 
Old 10-11-2003, 11:16 PM   #5
gpt
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
tuvok: thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!

I had tried following other directions to get java working with mozilla with no luck, tried yours and it works like a charm!!!
 
Old 10-14-2003, 12:02 AM   #6
flimzzy
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: 15
it never worked for me... sad.... I'm gona have to try it with mozilla, also I donno if this makes a diffrence or not but the file I got from http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
was named j2re1_4_2_01-linux-i586.bin
I dono if this made a diffrences or not, if so please get back to me... haven' no java applet sucks
 
Old 10-14-2003, 05:11 PM   #7
Tuvok
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: FreeBSD 6.1, NetBSD 3.0.1
Posts: 170

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
flimzzy,

You have to be creative; at the time I wrote this post latest java was j2re-1_4_2, the current release is j2re1_4_2_01. So, simply change (just add _01) what needs to be changed.

Good luck.
 
Old 10-26-2003, 12:42 PM   #8
ford
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: Suse 8.2, HP-UX 11.0, Irix 6.2
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: 0
Thumbs up

Tuvok,

Thanks for a great post. I upgraded to Mozilla 1.5 and my Java stopped working. I followed your instructions and everything's fine again.

Cheers,

Ford
 
Old 12-12-2003, 09:30 PM   #9
Doomhammer
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Montreal Qc, Canada
Posts: 105

Rep: Reputation: 15
I did exactly as you said, but i still have an error message when i try to install LimeWireLinux.bin..

Im RH9, The error is :
Launching installer...

Warning: -Xmx100331648 not understood. Ignoring.
Warning: -Xms16777216 not understood. Ignoring.
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: com.zerog.lax.LAX
at 0x40268e17: java.lang.Throwable.Throwable(java.lang.String) (/usr/lib/./libgcj.so.3)
at 0x4025bc8e: java.lang.Error.Error(java.lang.String) (/usr/lib/./libgcj.so.3)
at 0x4025d6b6: java.lang.LinkageError.LinkageError(java.lang.String) (/usr/lib/./libgcj.so.3)
at 0x4025eb36: java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError.NoClassDefFoundError(java.lang.String) (/usr/lib/./libgcj.so.3)
at 0x402ad075: gnu.gcj.runtime.FirstThread.run() (/usr/lib/./libgcj.so.3)
at 0x4024fc4c: _Jv_ThreadRun(java.lang.Thread) (/usr/lib/./libgcj.so.3)
at 0x4021c8ac: _Jv_RunMain(java.lang.Class, byte const, int, byte const, boolean) (/usr/lib/./libgcj.so.3)
at 0x08048910: __gcj_personality_v0 (java.compiler=NONE)
at 0x40696a67: __libc_start_main (/lib/i686/libc.so.6)
at 0x080486c1: _Jv_RegisterClasses (java.compiler=NONE)
I think im gonna cry, its been two days im trying to install that application.
 
Old 12-12-2003, 10:28 PM   #10
slr
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Check this... The solution to your prob is in the second post...

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...hreadid=114921
 
Old 12-12-2003, 11:34 PM   #11
Doomhammer
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Montreal Qc, Canada
Posts: 105

Rep: Reputation: 15
Thank you, ill try that, i was bored of trying, so i decided to install gtk-gnutella. I like it, it connects to limewire, shareaza etc..
 
Old 12-12-2003, 11:39 PM   #12
slr
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Try dcgui...imho it's the best...
 
Old 12-12-2003, 11:41 PM   #13
DrOzz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Distribution: slackware
Posts: 4,185

Rep: Reputation: 60
dcgui-qt hands down...there is no argument..
 
Old 12-23-2003, 10:34 AM   #14
Seraph
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: SuSE 8.2 Pro
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: 15
I follwed those steps exactly and it doesnt work. My symbolic links are not being recognised as symbolic links. .for some reason its calling them Windows media files.. .strange I know, so I tried copying the ns610-gcc32 .so to usr/local/mozilla/plugins and now mozilla just crashes with no error messege when I try to load a site that contains java. I removed the old version I had and installed mozilla 1.5 before trying this and I downloaded the java file that is linked in Tuvok's post. .any ideas??
 
Old 12-23-2003, 11:57 AM   #15
skeeleraar
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: 0
mmm, i did everything you said, but my mozilla wouldn't start mozilla afterwards...i just deleted the symlinks and made them again...and for some reason it works now...
thanks mate
still cant figure out how to get it on konqueror tho...but doesnt realy matter, since i dont use it for internetbrowsing...
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Java Runtime and Konqueror + Mozilla nrunge Linux - Software 1 03-22-2004 09:24 PM
Weird Problems Browsing with Mozilla & Konqueror lnxconvrt Linux - Software 8 03-02-2004 11:23 PM
!#@$java%%#$konqueror!@#%$mozilla*+%^install ricdave Mandriva 13 09-29-2003 04:11 PM
Mozilla & Konqueror Freezing WARpedMinD Linux - Software 2 02-14-2003 01:39 PM
Java Applet in Konqueror and Mozilla Ciccio Linux - General 4 12-10-2002 08:13 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration