LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 08-07-2003, 12:15 AM   #1
metros
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Mandrake 9.0 NVIDIA/X Problem

Ok, I'm pretty new to linux so hopefully someone can help me out here, because I can't wait to get away from windows. I installed Mandrake 9.0 a few weeks ago and everything went perfect, no problems whatsoever.. but then i got a new computer and had to reinstall it, and that's when i got the display problems.

I have an integrated nvidia geforce4 mx 128 meg video card and when i installed mandrake it did not recognize it. Both nv and nvidia drivers did not work so I had to use vesa. Now I realize there are many other posts of people that had this problem, but I followed everything and cannot figure out what is going wrong. So I'll try and start from the beginning.

I went to the nvidia site and got the nvchooser script, ran it, got the glx and kernel rpms it told me to get and also the latest version of xfree. I installed xfree but then when i tried "xfree86 - configure" it told me i needed glide drivers, which I searched for info on and unless I'm reading wrong, its for 3dfx cards... so I'm not sure why I need that. So instead I used xf86config and that all worked. I installed the 2 nvidia rpms (both were successfull) and then made the fixes to the xf86config-4 file just like in the other posts.