LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 08-02-2003, 04:25 PM   #1
ematrixxx

Rep: Reputation: 15
Please help with wireless

I have a linksys WUSB11 2.6 wireless internet connection. I want to use it on my laptop that i put slackware 9.0 on. I am a complete linux newbie, can anyone tell me what to do ? I am totally confused if there are even drivers for this ...

Thankyou so much !

Ematrixxx

Old 08-02-2003, 09:24 PM   #2
Rodrin

Distribution: Slackware

Rep: Reputation: 31
You can take a look here
http://atmelwlandriver.sourceforge.net
which is the driver I use for my pcmcia card on my laptop (Belkin F5D6020 ver. 2; version 1 is an entirely different chipset with great Linux support, which is what I thought I was getting), but is also supposed to support some of the USB devices based on this chipset family. You can also look here
http://at76c503a.berlios.de/
which supports some devices that the other driver doesn't (at least not any longer). Neither driver is supposed to be terribly mature. When I first tried the "stable" version of the first driver for my laptop, it didn't work right, but then I tried the then latest snapshot, and it has worked great for what I need at my house.

Old 08-03-2003, 12:12 AM   #3
leeman_s

I used your second link.

Now here is my problem:

I use DHCP. When DHCP runs though, I think it's trying to use eth0 instead of wlan0 which I created for the wireless card.

1) How can I change what interface /sbin/dhcpcd goes out through?

2) When I created wlan0, I typed: iwconfig wlan0 channel 1 essid leeman. The channel and essid were just random things. I have no idea if that makes a difference. Will that make a difference?