LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2003, 07:57 PM   #1
boftron
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
NVIDIA Drivers

hey i'm running linux rh 9.0. i have no clue how to install this driver it is, NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run i logged into root and did "sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run" it started running but i can't get it to install because i can't figure out how to get out of X-windows, it cannot install unless i exit x-windows and have only a console running. can someone please ehlp, i am very new at this. also, i did something else and was able to extract the file and all these files came out, one being nvidia-installer, how do i run that file? when i double click it nothing happens is there a better way to do all of this?

Old 07-10-2003, 08:00 PM   #2
DrOzz

Distribution: slackware

Rep: Reputation: 60
you can read what i posted here:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...dia+FetcFfstab

Old 07-11-2003, 12:16 AM   #3
boftron
LQ Newbie

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
i have been trying over and over doing everything that thing says, and i can't get it. nothing seems to work. when i try to run the add/remove programs thing it comes up saying i'm missing all these files that i wasn't missing earlier.. i really don't know what to do it's been 4 hours and i'm still exactly where i was in the beginning. when i try to edit the read me XFconfig it won't let me save it. if anyone has any ideas please let me know.. thanks.

Old 07-11-2003, 12:47 AM   #4
MasterC
LQ Guru

Distribution: Gentoo ; LFS ; Kubuntu ; CentOS ; Raspbian

Rep: Reputation: 69
[added /as an after thought to complete the instructions]