LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2003, 03:54 PM   #1
jimothygu
LQ Newbie

Distribution: Redhat 8

Rep: Reputation: 0
Unhappy Redhat Psyche is slow

Hi, I just had a quick question about Redhat. I'm really new to linux, I'm pretty much forced to use windows because of work; but I had an old 666mhz computer so I decided to slap a copy of linux on and play around with it. It seems great, except that some things are just SO slow. When I click the mozilla button in the taskbar it take up to 5 seconds for the window to show up. Also the OpenOffice takes up to 10 seconds to load. I don't think it's because of a lack of RAM, I've got 384mb in it.

The console seems very quick, although I haven't used it much because of lack of knowledge, but I'm wondering if it's just a GUI thing or if it's maybe a Redhat issue. During the installation psyche seemed to recognize my hardware pretty well, so I haven't messed around with any of the settings (not that I know how to), but should I? Thanks in advance.

Jim

Old 03-04-2003, 03:57 PM   #2
Crashed_Again

Distribution: Ubuntu & Arch

Rep: Reputation: 57
What window manager are you using? Are you using KDE? Its a bit slow in my opinion as well. You may want to try something like fluxbox or blackbox which are much quicker. Also try to shut off all services you are not using because they can eat up your processor and ram.

Old 03-04-2003, 04:07 PM   #3
Tinkster

Distribution: slackware by choice, others too :} ... android.

Rep: Reputation: 928Reputation: 928Reputation: 928Reputation: 928Reputation: 928Reputation: 928Reputation: 928Reputation: 928