LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software > Linux - Games
User Name
Password
Linux - Games This forum is for all discussion relating to gaming in Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2005, 12:38 PM   #1
black hole sun
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Slackware Current
Posts: 127

Rep: Reputation: 15
Anyone manage to compile the Quake 3 source code?


If so, how?

I have done a

find lcc/src | xargs fromdos (as suggested on slashdot)

Then when I go to compile I get this;

paul@nephilim:~/q3a/quake3-1.32b/code/unix$ ./cons
: No such file or directory

No such file or directory? What's the supposed to mean? What is it not finding?
 
Old 08-21-2005, 01:11 PM   #2
BROse
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Here & Now
Distribution: SuSE 10.2
Posts: 96

Rep: Reputation: 15
Same here.........
 
Old 08-21-2005, 01:41 PM   #3
Nylex
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: London, UK
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,464

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I haven't been able to download it yet .
 
Old 08-22-2005, 03:31 PM   #4
black hole sun
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Slackware Current
Posts: 127

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
up you go!
Quote:
Originally posted by Nylex
I haven't been able to download it yet .
ftp://ftp.demon.co.uk/pub/mirrors/id...32b-source.zip

Anyone?
 
Old 08-23-2005, 04:25 AM   #5
trey85stang
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,091

Rep: Reputation: 41
not that I condone reading on the site I am about to mention...

but... There is step by step instructions posted on slashdot under the topic about the code being released.
 
Old 08-23-2005, 12:10 PM   #6
MasterC
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT - USA
Distribution: Gentoo ; LFS ; Kubuntu ; CentOS ; Raspbian
Posts: 12,613

Rep: Reputation: 69
Quote:
Originally posted by trey85stang
not that I condone reading on the site I am about to mention...

but... There is step by step instructions posted on slashdot under the topic about the code being released.
Slashdot is my only news source



Moved: This thread is more suitable in Linux - Games and has been moved accordingly to help your thread/question get the exposure it deserves.
 
Old 08-23-2005, 03:17 PM   #7
madluther
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: LFS
Posts: 350

Rep: Reputation: 31
The source compiles and runs fine.

Make sure you unpack the zip file with unzip -a otherwise the cons perl file will bail when you run it.

Adjust code/Construct file to suit your system for release/debug or SMP builds

build it with following command run from the code directory

./unix/cons -- gcc=gcc g++=g++

note, the build failed with gcc-3.4.1 but built cleanly with gcc-3.3.4

the code/install directory contains the binaries.

HTH

Mad.
 
Old 08-27-2005, 12:06 PM   #8
kornerr
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Location: Russia, Siberia, Kemerovo
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 893

Rep: Reputation: 35
Quote:
Make sure you unpack the zip file with unzip -a otherwise the cons perl file will bail when you run it.
Thanks for that!
 
Old 08-27-2005, 12:44 PM   #9
kornerr
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Location: Russia, Siberia, Kemerovo
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 893

Rep: Reputation: 35
What is it:
Code:
 
kornerr@darkstar:/home/other/apps/quake3-1.32b/code/install$ ./linuxquake3
Q3 1.32b linux-i386 Aug 28 2005
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
/home/kornerr/.q3a/baseq3
/home/other/apps/quake3-1.32b/code/install/baseq3
./linuxquake3/baseq3

----------------------
0 files in pk3 files

Running in restricted demo mode.

----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
/home/kornerr/.q3a/demota
/home/other/apps/quake3-1.32b/code/install/demota
./linuxquake3/demota

----------------------
0 files in pk3 files
----- CL_Shutdown -----
-----------------------
----- CL_Shutdown -----
-----------------------
Sys_Error: Couldn't load default.cfg
linuxquake3: debug-x86-Linux-2.3/core/client/unix/unix_main.c:333: Sys_Exit: Assertion `ex == 0' failed.
Aborted
I haven't modified code/Construct ...
What should I modify?

Thanks.
 
Old 08-27-2005, 07:21 PM   #10
madluther
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: LFS
Posts: 350

Rep: Reputation: 31
You need the pk3 files from the point release and from the quake3 cd.

You can get the point release here (you may need to hold down the shift key when clicking the link)

ftp://ftp.idsoftware.com/idstuff/qua....32b-3.x86.run

to unpack this file, make it executeable and create a temp directory to untar it.

Code:
chmod +x linuxq3apoint-1.32b-3.x86.run
mkdir q3tmp; cd q3tmp
../linuxq3apoint-1.32b-3.x86.run --tar xvf
copy all the .pk3 files from the q3tmp/baseq3 directory to the code/install/baseq3 dir in the source directory tree, finally copy pak0.pk3 from the quake3 cd to the baseq3.

HTH

Mad.
 
Old 08-28-2005, 02:10 AM   #11
kornerr
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Location: Russia, Siberia, Kemerovo
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 893

Rep: Reputation: 35
Thanks, madluther.
Will try it when get quake3 pk3s
 
Old 08-28-2005, 09:50 AM   #12
Daejavu
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu . Athlone XP 2600, 512 MB Ram
Posts: 56

Rep: Reputation: 15
what will happen after a successful compilation ?
i mean what file will comeup in front of u and what can that file do when the compilation is sucees ?
 
Old 08-28-2005, 10:07 AM   #13
Nylex
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: London, UK
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,464

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
You'll be able to play Q3 under Linux, surely (edit: assuming of course the graphics drivers are there and stuff)..
 
Old 08-28-2005, 06:00 PM   #14
win32sux
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 9,870

Rep: Reputation: 380Reputation: 380Reputation: 380Reputation: 380
what are the pk3 files?? and what license do they use??

Quote:
Originally posted by madluther
finally copy pak0.pk3 from the quake3 cd to the baseq3.
but what about those of us that don't have the quake 3 cd??

BTW, just curious: has anyone put together a quake 3 linux binary package?? and will we start to see some linux distros include quake 3 in their package repositories??
 
Old 01-09-2007, 09:14 PM   #15
headrush0r
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2005
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: 15
i get this when trying to compile the q3source on an x86_64 machine, dual core 3800 cpu.

debug-x86-Linux-2.5/Q3/game/game/g_main.c: In function 'vmMain':
debug-x86-Linux-2.5/Q3/game/game/g_main.c:212: warning: cast from pointer to integer of different size
cons: *** [debug-x86-Linux-2.5/Q3/game/game/g_main.o] Error 1
cons: errors constructing debug-x86-Linux-2.5/Q3/game/game/g_main.o

i'm very certain this is a 64bit-only problem.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quake III Source Code released! Ryan450 Linux - Games 8 09-02-2005 12:43 AM
Why can't FreeBSD compile anything from source code? mortal *BSD 5 03-21-2005 07:49 PM
how i compile a source code? nazib Linux - General 5 02-27-2005 09:13 AM
compiling quake 2 source code hylke Programming 2 11-28-2004 11:02 AM
How to compile source code... Grim Reaper Linux - Newbie 3 04-26-2002 11:28 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software > Linux - Games

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration