LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2005, 08:51 AM   #1
Brotherswing
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Michigan
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: 15
dri on mach64, slackware 10.1, laptop


ok, so i've been fighting with this for weeks now. i know dri will support my graphics chip. i've googled it countless times, and i feel like i'm going in cirlces. so far i've built fresh xorg server, drm, and mesa from cvs following the documentation on dri.freedesktop.org. i've tried binaries, and i've followed the advice of retinal burn. i haven't tried gatos, because i don't care about tv out -just 3d. i've used modprobe before launching x to make sure the modules are loading in the proper order. i've checked my xorg.0.log for errors, and saw nothing. i've gone over my xorg.conf and compared it to others i've seen posted, and i don't see what i'm missing. the hardware is an ati rage mobility p 8mb agp 2x, p3 600, 512mb ram dell inspiron 5000. i don't expect this thing to run UT2004, but i know it run the original ut just fine under windows. when i try to run ut on it in linux i get one frame every five or six seconds. when i run glxgears i average 128-130. that is up from about 70 when i embarked on this project. when i do
Code:
glxinfo | grep direct
the output is
Code:
direct rendering: No
i'm posting my xorg.conf (without the comments) below. i think it's something simple that i'm just not seeing, and all i'm asking for is a fresh set of eyes to double check my work. if it'll help i can post my xorg.0.log as well. any ideas would be great. thanks!


Section "Module"
Load "GLcore"
Load "bitmap"
Load "dbe"
Load "ddc"
Load "dri"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
Load "int10"
Load "record"
Load "type1"
Load "vbe"
SubSection "extmod"
Option "omit xfree86-dga"
EndSubSection
EndSection
Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection
Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic/"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
EndSection
Section "ServerFlags"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "My Monitor"
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "ATI Mach64"
Driver "ati"
VideoRam 8192
Option "DMAMode" "mmio"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "ATI Mach64"
Monitor "My Monitor"
DefaultDepth 16
Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 32
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
EndSection
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Simple Layout"
Screen "Screen 1"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
 
Old 02-13-2005, 06:44 AM   #2
pe2338
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Bucharest,RO
Distribution: debian etch, sarge and sid
Posts: 407

Rep: Reputation: 30
are you sure your kernel has support for dri and your card?
I assume you have a custom kernel
 
Old 02-13-2005, 08:26 AM   #3
Brotherswing
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Michigan
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 28

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
no, i'd been using the stock 2.4.29 kernel in the distro. last night i cooked up a fresh 2.6.10 kernel with all the tweaks i figured i'd need, but lilo is being dumb and ignoring it. i'm remember i used to use grub a few years ago on.....mandrake 8? red hat 7? somewhere in there. I never really got a system fully functional, because i always gave up. but i always came back. i'm closer now than ever, so i refuse to give up. we'll see what this new kernel can do, and i'll post back to let you know.
 
Old 02-13-2005, 09:30 AM   #4
pe2338
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Bucharest,RO
Distribution: debian etch, sarge and sid
Posts: 407

Rep: Reputation: 30
lilo must be run after changing /etc/lilo.conf
 
Old 02-16-2005, 09:47 PM   #5
Brotherswing
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Michigan
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 28

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Talking GOT IT!

well, my custom 2.6 kernel blew up in my face (but thats a headache for another day ) but i finaly got it working under 2.4.29. not sure what i'd done wrong, but i carefully retraced everystep, and it worked this time. i'm not going to question it, i'm just going to make a backup with partimage, and call myself lucky. thanks for your help!
 
Old 02-17-2005, 10:17 AM   #6
t3gah
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, ubuntu, Debian
Posts: 734

Rep: Reputation: 30
The Changelog in 2.6.10 says it fixed some issues with Rage Mobility controllers, laptops, USB and LCD's. IF you still seem to be having problems or lockups, 2.6.10 may be your answer.

Glad to hear you got DRI working. So did I on a few different distros.
 
Old 02-17-2005, 07:46 PM   #7
Brotherswing
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Michigan
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 28

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
k, now i'm a little confused. i had it working last night, but then today it wasn't. the only settings i changed was switching from dhcp on a wifi card (home) to a static ip on a 10/100 card (work). i know that won't affect it, so now i'm left wondering why it it stopped. sounds like the new kernel may be a better solution. i'm going to try that tactic for a while. i don't mind putting time into this, it took me 8 months to find a driver that supports opengl under winxp. i'll be posting back as i make progress (or with more questions.) btw, pe2338, good call. i'd forgotten to rerun lilo. that worked like a charm. too bad the kernel wasn't "in the mood." we'll see what happens.
 
Old 02-23-2005, 03:14 PM   #8
Brotherswing
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: Michigan
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 28

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
well, i got it working again. i tracked it down to libGL.so.1 being in the wrong directory. setup a quick link, and poof! as if by magic, it was working. thanks for the input guys.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRI stops after reboot (slack10.1, mach64) Brotherswing Linux - Hardware 1 02-24-2005 05:32 PM
Problem Compiling DRI for ATI Mach64 on 2.6.0 intens Slackware 2 01-09-2004 12:28 PM
DRI, with r128 and slackware 9 boney Slackware 0 05-23-2003 12:39 PM
DRI that comes with slackware 9 wr3ck3d Slackware 0 03-30-2003 08:10 PM
ATI Mach64 Graphics Card on NEC Versa Laptop Beano21 Linux - Software 2 05-30-2001 06:25 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration