LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software > Linux - Games
User Name
Password
Linux - Games This forum is for all discussion relating to gaming in Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2005, 04:02 PM   #1
JerryMcFarts
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.04
Posts: 117

Rep: Reputation: 15
A Gamerz Must Have!!


Hi I love to game and with Linux they have my 2 most favorite games. Wolfenstien: Enemy Territory (with the ELITE mod) and ArmyOps

So I am set, but there are some annoyances. One of the biggest for me is that when I play I can't minimize the screen when I am playing, say if i had a IM or if i wanted to read a web-page while I am waiting to respawn. Okay sure I can minimize it with the following:

Alt+Enter

But it seems to me it takes to long or it freezes up or i lose my mouse. Well I found a better way. Which I use frequently to my delight. Sure people know how to do this, but I am reaching out to the ones who don't.

Everything that I explain is explained here
But I am writing this out of my experiences.

You are currently running on your X-server (or DISPLAY) and you should know that if you

Ctrl+Alt+F(1,2,3,4,5,6,)

you get different terminals, and you can use them all at the same time if need be.
And the last

Ctrl+Alt+F7

Is your Graphical Interface. Well Have you ever wanted to have a 2ND Graphical interface? Well you can with the steps below.

Enabling your Second X-server:

try this:

Open up a terminal window and type:

Code:
X :1.0
This starts your Second X server you should see your mouse and should be able to move it around on a blank screen (I have a nVidia Flash Screen that pops up telling me that i have the graphics installed). My mouse is an X on the screen.

IF YOU GET THIS GO TO THE BOTTOM FOR THE SOLUTION

Quote:
Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: No protocol specified

xterm Xt error: Can't open display: :0.0
IF ALL IS GOOD CONTINUE

Then: Ctrl+Alt+F7

This brings you back to your main desktop.

To keep it organize, I go back to the same terminal

Go to File > Open Tab > Default

Then in that new window type

Code:
export DISPLAY=:1.0
This sets your terminal to run the second X-server DISPLAY

to see what X-server you are controlling you type

Code:
echo $DISPLAY
You should see
:1.0 *you don't need to do this, I am making sure that you see what you're controlling*

Then type:

Code:
xterm
This started the xterm in your second X-Server.

Then Ctrl+Alt+F8

you should see that screen with your mouse and now a xterm is in it, click on the xterm and type your game/program that you would like to use.

Code:
et
Now during the game perhaps you want to go back to your Desktop

Then Ctrl+Alt+F7

and Ctrl+Alt+F8 to get back.

And You are Done I find it to be faster and more effective and its cool geeky thing to do :-) Happy Gaming!!



SOLUTION TO PERMISSION PROBLEM
####################################################

Quote:
Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: No protocol specified

xterm Xt error: Can't open display: :0.0
###################################################

***************** THIS IS ALL QUOTED FROM THIS SITE ***********************
www.Linux.Gamers.net


This indecates your writes are not enough to access this screen. If you don't even now: It's deny to start any applications on the X of somebody else. Even for root.
But as we can solve that problem by editing the .Xauthority using xauth.

Code:
linux $ xauth
xauth>
How you have an auth-prompt to edit the accesfiles. First lets see all entry for now:

Code:
xauth> list
0.0.0.0:0  MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1  68d682a4f137b4f4679248eybc36a7c5
xeroc/unix:0  MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1  68d682a4f137b4f4679248eybc36a7c5
As we see here we are only allowed to use :0. My MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1-Code is this: 68d682a4f137b4f4679248eybc36a7c5 (For security I changed it).
We now have to add Display :1.0:
Code:
xauth> add :1.0 MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1  68d682a4f137b4f4679248eybc36a7c5
and save:
Code:
xauth> exit
Note that 'quit' removes changes and exits then.

Now all should work fine.
 
Old 02-03-2005, 10:40 PM   #2
Linux.tar.gz
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Location: Paris
Distribution: Slackware forever.
Posts: 2,534

Rep: Reputation: 100Reputation: 100
Wow!!! A Linuxianz Must Have!!! I saw somewhere it was impossible!!
But i should expect your thread to be something great because you play Truecombat: elite .
Thxx man. And gg hf gl
 
Old 02-04-2005, 01:40 AM   #3
XavierP
Moderator
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Kent, England
Distribution: Debian Testing
Posts: 19,192
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 475Reputation: 475Reputation: 475Reputation: 475Reputation: 475
I have moved this thread to Linux-Games - why not write this up for our Tutorial section?
 
Old 02-09-2005, 07:07 AM   #4
pujolasdf
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Posts: 70

Rep: Reputation: 15
Yeah!!! Brilliant post!! That's what we newbies (I started seriously with linux just 3 days ago) need to learn how to use the best OS out there! Thank you very much ;D

I just have one question. How do you remove the new X server? I tried killing the X:1.0 process in the new X server but now when I do CTRL+ALT+F8 I get a black screen with a keyboard cursor in the top left corner and I am unable to type or do anything there.

Last edited by pujolasdf; 02-09-2005 at 07:10 AM.
 
Old 02-09-2005, 08:18 AM   #5
Tuxluver
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: Texas
Distribution: Fedora Core 3
Posts: 58

Rep: Reputation: 16
Thanks for the post! That's really cool! I love playing ArmyOps, and that'll be a really nice thing to be able to do.
 
Old 02-09-2005, 08:39 AM   #6
Tormented
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: ???
Distribution: Mandriva 2006
Posts: 92

Rep: Reputation: 15
You guys might want to check out Xgame.
It's a perl script that provides a simple gui for starting a game in a new X session.
 
Old 02-09-2005, 12:30 PM   #7
JerryMcFarts
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.04
Posts: 117

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
When you go to the konsole where you started the :1.0 you just hit

Ctrl+C

to kill the process and when you get back to the normal command line you konw its done.

Even though there is a cursor blinker, its not doing anything it is just there ready to start up again if need be.
 
Old 02-11-2005, 03:46 AM   #8
rejser
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu dapper/breezy
Posts: 102

Rep: Reputation: 15
I just switch desktop......
 
Old 02-11-2005, 03:10 PM   #9
JerryMcFarts
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.04
Posts: 117

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Also another ad

You will notice that you can't move anything on the new screen this is because you don't have a window manager running. Since I use the Gnome Desktop environment I know that the KDE window manager isn't being used so i start that up in a new xterm on my first display:

Code:
# export DISPLAY=:1.0
# kwin
Now after I have made more windows, for console or to surf the Internet, i now can move the windows if they over lap. lol :-)

Thank you for reading,
~Bryon

P.S. rejser, reread the first post i think you mis-understand why i want to have another display.
 
Old 02-20-2005, 04:44 PM   #10
JerryMcFarts
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.04
Posts: 117

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Wine under Second X-Server

I have been experimenting with Wine, and installing programs all over the place. lol I find it very annoying when programs freeze or their splash screen wont go away for some odd reason, and so usually I go into console and init 3 then init 5 to get back to my original screen. So i am experimenting with using the second X window instead so that I don't have to keep reboot my 1st X server. but I am having some problems getting it to work in the second X Server

first of all I have just been trying this, I start up my X server.

Code:
X :1.0
then I start up KDE, i don't know why i just don't want to mess up with Gnome, when i using it on my first one. even though i have tried it too on there, i will explain that later.
Code:
kdm
Thats under root

theni start up the window manager
Code:
kwin
this all works out but then when it yr to use wine to play a game or anything

Code:
wine ./UFO\ Defense.exe
i get a butt-load of errors:

Quote:
err:module:import_dll Library ole32.dll (which is needed by L"Z:\\home\\jerrymcfarts\\.wine\\drive_c\\Program Files\\MicroProse\\X-COM Collector's Edition\\UFODefense\\UFO Defense.exe") not found
err:module:import_dll Library ole32.dll (which is needed by L"c:\\windows\\system\\ddraw.dll") not found
err:module:import_dll Library DDRAW.dll (which is needed by L"Z:\\home\\jerrymcfarts\\.wine\\drive_c\\Program Files\\MicroProse\\X-COM Collector's Edition\\UFODefense\\UFO Defense.exe") not found
err:module:import_dll Library ole32.dll (which is needed by L"c:\\windows\\system\\dsound.dll") not found
err:module:import_dll Library DSOUND.dll (which is needed by L"Z:\\home\\jerrymcfarts\\.wine\\drive_c\\Program Files\\MicroProse\\X-COM Collector's Edition\\UFO Defense\\UFO Defense.exe") not found
err:module:import_dll Library ole32.dll (which is needed by L"c:\\windows\\system\\dinput.dll") not found
err:module:import_dll Library DINPUT.dll (which is needed by L"Z:\\home\\jerrymcfarts\\.wine\\drive_c\\Program Files\\MicroProse\\X-COM Collector's Edition\\UFO Defense\\UFO Defense.exe") not found
err:module:LdrInitializeThunk Main exe initialization for L"Z:\\home\\jerrymcfarts\\.wine\\drive_c\\Program Files\\MicroProse\\X-COM Collector's Edition\\UFO Defense\\UFO Defense.exe" failed, status c0000135
So i am guessing that something isn't loaded yet, but i don't know what.

When i was using Gnome, i did NOT start up
Code:
gdm
because it says it is already running. but I start up the graphical shell
Code:
nautilus /
then
Code:
kwin
and this also does'nt work.. am i missing something?

thank you for reading,
Bryon
 
Old 03-12-2005, 05:24 AM   #11
Linux.tar.gz
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Location: Paris
Distribution: Slackware forever.
Posts: 2,534

Rep: Reputation: 100Reputation: 100
Perhaps wine supports only X :0.0
 
Old 04-09-2005, 01:02 AM   #12
JerryMcFarts
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.04
Posts: 117

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Maybe..

OK I made a nice tutorial on that, and I can't speak for other distros, since I am useing Ubuntu but i found this command:

gdmflexiserver

This starts an automatic second X-Server. Very Cool!! Check it out! let me know if the other distros have this feature, i am guessing that anyone with GDM will have it.
 
Old 07-12-2005, 11:11 PM   #13
WindowsDefector
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2002
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: 0
Okay this works great to switch displays when playing ET. My problem now is that I get the error:The XKEYBOARD keymap compiler (xkbcomp) reports:
Warning: Symbol map for key <ESC> redefined
Using last definition for conflicting fields

This repeats for 20 or so different keys then it says:

Errors from xkbcomp are not fatal to the X server

What I find is that in ET for example, my mousewheel doesn't work anymore. I'm sure it has something to do with redefining keys or something in the new x-display or needing to load a new keymap or something but I have no idea. Any ideas?
 
Old 08-23-2005, 07:29 AM   #14
JerryMcFarts
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.04
Posts: 117

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Sorry I personally haven't had that problem.. is this the first time you cross over to your normal desktop? or is this when going back to the game ET?

only trouble i have lately is when I switch my screen turns black and it freezes and I have to reboot. Which is really annoying. I believe i have a bad graphics card. But I know that if I set the resolution the same as the Desktop then it doesn't have to work as hard when switching it does it less.

this is random though. so i believe it is my graphics card.
 
Old 08-31-2005, 06:16 PM   #15
yowi
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Au
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 209

Rep: Reputation: 55
Haven't seen it mentioned so try ctrl-alt-backspace
that should kill your current x session and xdk should restart it.

The must have for me is Red Orchestra. It's an awesome WW2 mod for UT2004, ET just leaves a dirty taste in my mouth now, there's even has a 64bit version! linux truly rocks!!!
check it here: http://redorchestra.clanservers.com
oops 509 bandwidth exceeded, try again tomorrow!

Last edited by yowi; 08-31-2005 at 06:17 PM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software > Linux - Games

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration