LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Enterprise Linux Forums > Linux - Enterprise
User Name
Password
Linux - Enterprise This forum is for all items relating to using Linux in the Enterprise.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2004, 11:00 PM   #1
stolenpants
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Linux Groupware vs. SBS 2003

I am a self employed technical consultant. I provide basic networks and basic security for small business. I try to stay away from cheap equipment and lousy software. I now use linux/BSD for routers and firewalls almost exclusively and I want to start offering SAMBA for domain controllers.

I have used samba in the past and found that it is very reliable and efficient, with uptime measured in months at the least. I want to get off of windows on the server, not because of cost, but because of security issues and general reliablity. The only remaining issue is groupware.

I have been considering Suse OpenExchange, it's open source cousin, Open-Xchange, OpenGroupware.org, Kerio Mail Server, and Exchange4Linux.

I have clients that will never get rid of outlook, so outlook compatibilty is essential. Right now I'm leaning towards Kerio Mail Server because Kerio products have been good in the past for me and it's cheap, it's around $500 for 20 users. Now some may say that opengroupware.org and exchange4linux are free, but they are not because the outlook connectors on them cost money, too. Suse exchange is prohibitively expensive.