LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2004, 08:18 PM   #1
moridon77

Distribution: Mandrake 10 official, FreeBSD, and trying to get Gentoo working (sounds like it may be the ultimate)

Rep: Reputation: 15
menus/newly installed apps/menu creation

OK i am new to linux (approaching 2 months) but i have been here since even before i was new (luckily o didn't yet know what questions to ask so i was able to read without posting). but i had a thousand questions then and now a thousand seems like a small number

i am running mandrake 10 on one of my machines and pretty much using it as my primary linux learning experience right now. i want to say i have figured out how to install apps but i would be lying. however i can say i have just finished installing mozilla firefox, followed by importing java into firefox. and installing macromedia flashplayer 6 into both (yeah i think that is pretty decent when i don't really know what i am doing yet).

my questions is now that i have installed firefox how do i create it onto my mandrake menu instead of having to always go back and launch it from the shell or with a command? i still have the shell i created and the one that came with firefox. so what do i need to do to create an icon or just place a quick launch type button on my k menu?