LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2004, 12:07 AM   #1
Qapla'
LQ Newbie

Distribution: Red Hat 9

Rep: Reputation: 0
Internet does not work after upgrade to Fedora Core 1

Bit of a noob here so please bear with me. I have checked through a lot of the posts and haven't seen anything like my problem, but if I missed it somewhere I apologize for the double post.
I have been running Red Hat 9 for a couple of months, and decided to upgrade to Fedora. Install went OK and everything seemed to work fine except my internet connection no longer worked. Everything was recognized and I can activate the connection, but cannot access any web page. I just get the small popup window that says the name cannot be found. I have switched back to RH9 for now until I can figure out this problem.
The setup: I am connected to a dsl modem through a hub ( not router ) sharing with a windows box. I use guarddog as a frontend to iptables for a firewall and have had no problems with the RH9 setup. I tried disabling the firewall in fedora, no luck. I even tried connecting directly to the modem and still nothing. I've done this a couple of times with a an upgrade and a fresh install and problem persists. My ethernet connection works fine ( can connect to windows box and share files, print, etc with samba ) if I set the ip manually. It fails to start on bootup with automatic settings of course, cause hub does not do dhcp but this is a minor annoyance for me until I buy a router.
Just thought I'd throw this out there in case someone else has had this problem or can see if I'm missing something. I'm pretty frustrated because I liked what I saw with Fedora but it doesn't do me any good if I can't access the net.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.