LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 05-01-2004, 06:58 PM   #1
deleshai

Distribution: Slackware 10.0

Rep: Reputation: 15
Question Should I re-install Slack or.... help please.

Hello and thanks for the help that I have seen here on this forum.
Ok so my question is.... Should I re-install my slack?
I have Slack 9.1 with the bare kernel and I loaded everything on the 1st 2 disk... I dont know what is on the other 2 disk. I have also downloaded Dropeline 2.6.
Besides that I have not really done much to my system but I have read many times about optimizing a system one way or another, I guess you start out with the kernel right?
But I am really new to all this and I am having a hartd time trying to figure out what I can do without to many headackes to getr the most out of what my box has to offer.
What I like to do:
1. Watch videos/movies.
2. Listen to music.
3. Play games.
4 The net ofcource.
5. Make / Edit Music ( Sampling, Midi...)
6. Download from the Gnetulla Network.
Thats about it I guess. All seems to be standard enough. So I feel like I should slim down on all the stuff that cam on the disk and figure out a way to get the most ou of my box.
Where to start if not just keep what I am running with.

All I know that I have is:
Pentuim 4. 1.6Ghz.
60 Gigs of space
ATI Radeon 7500 video card
Samsung CD-RW
Samsung DVD-Rom
256 SyncDram

Old 05-01-2004, 08:14 PM   #2
shilo

Distribution: Slackware 11 - kernel 2.6.19.1 - Dropline Gnome 2.16.2

Rep: Reputation: 50