LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 04-24-2004, 05:25 PM   #1
treble54

Distribution: SuSE 9.3

Rep: Reputation: 15
Question Mouse problem

I'm brand brand new to SuSE 9.0. I had absolutely no problem installing it. Upon installing, it detected my mouse as a generic mouse and I was able to use only the two buttons, which didn't bother me at all for the time being. Eventually, I'd expect to get the other functions of it to work.

I'm using the Logitech MX700 wireless mouse (along with it's wireless keyboard counterpart as part of the Cordless MX Duo). I was surfing through the mouse preinstalled drivers in YaST and thought I'd try one and see if it'd let the forward / back buttons work. It ends up that I lose my mouse access completely and I can't get it back now. On top of that, I don't know the keyboard shortcuts for KDE or Gnome.

Can anyone help me get access to my mouse again and on top of that make it so I can actually use all or most of my MX700 mouse instead of it being the generic mouse?

Again, I'm totally new to Linux and SuSE 9.0 so keep that in mind when explaining on how to go about using the terminal or whatever other options there are available to me that I'm unaware of.

Also, I have looked on google and on these forums for some (not extensively, but enough that I thought I'd just post a thread and, at the very least, get a link to another thread that would help solve my problem).

Any help would be much appreciated and any flaming wouldn't be. Thanks.

Old 04-24-2004, 06:21 PM   #2
treble54

Original Poster