LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > Programming
User Name
Password
Programming This forum is for all programming questions.
The question does not have to be directly related to Linux and any language is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2002, 03:36 PM   #1
manjulap
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2002
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
Question dynamically including C modules


The problem is about dynamically linking C functions in a software called Yorick.Yorick runs on Linux and the latest version is Yorick 1.5.For high speed processing Yorick programs are written with linked-in C functions. Right now each time new C code is included, Yorick has to be recompiled.
My question is how to dynamically include C functions wihtout having to "make" Yorick each time C code is included.
I was told that its the same way as we do with Linux.
Please let me know
Thanks,

Last edited by manjulap; 03-12-2002 at 03:44 PM.
 
Old 03-12-2002, 11:11 PM   #2
nitr0gen
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Distribution: Homemade Slakware
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: 0
Lightbulb Shared Library for Plugin Module

Take a lok at this pointer
http://www.linuxdoc.org/HOWTO/Progra...WTO/index.html

you can change code without recompiling the whole thing...
you can dynamicly load symbol into processes environement using functions
dlopen(), dlsyms(), etc...

nitr0gen
 
Old 03-12-2002, 11:12 PM   #3
nitr0gen
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Distribution: Homemade Slakware
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: 0
Screwed up url

sorry the url has been screwed cant figure out why..
http://www.linuxdoc.org/HOWTO/Progra...WTO/index.html
 
Old 03-12-2002, 11:14 PM   #4
nitr0gen
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Distribution: Homemade Slakware
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: 0
Exclamation ??

I really dont know why the url gets screwed up but Ill paste it in several token..
http://www.linuxdoc.org/
HOWTO/
Program-Library-HOWTO/
index.html
 
Old 03-13-2002, 03:00 AM   #5
acid_kewpie
Moderator
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Distribution: Gentoo, RHEL, Fedora, Centos
Posts: 43,417

Rep: Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985
Re: ??

Quote:
Originally posted by nitr0gen
I really dont know why the url gets screwed up but Ill paste it in several token..
http://www.linuxdoc.org/
HOWTO/
Program-Library-HOWTO/
index.html
url's just get abreviated when they are too long, they still work fine if you click them...
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dynamically phoenix_fei Programming 5 01-17-2005 07:51 PM
dynamically loading modules that don't perryub Linux - Software 1 12-15-2004 04:44 AM
dynamically expanding an array in c++ a1ghagh05t Programming 4 03-07-2004 09:00 PM
Re: modprobe: Note: /etc/modules.conf is more recent than lib/modules/2.4.9/modules.d Andy.M Linux - General 1 01-24-2002 01:50 AM
Re: modprobe: Note: /etc/modules.conf is more recent than lib/modules/2.4.9/modules.d Andy.M Linux - Newbie 2 01-24-2002 01:40 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > Programming

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration