LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2004, 07:26 PM   #1
kitkatrobins
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Which linux and version?

I'll be honset - Im new to Linux so I don't know hardly n e thing about it.

What version is best to get started with?

Fedora project??

KR

Old 01-15-2004, 07:32 PM   #2
king_nothingzzz

Distribution: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4

Rep: Reputation: 15
Hi

I would suggest any Redhat would be fine. I'm saying this because i am with Redhat from a long time and everything is going fine...I find almost everything i need, be it help, packages, upgrades...u name it u have it.

I cant comment on other distros cos i dont know much about any other one.

Redhat is a safe bet!!

King Nothing

Old 01-15-2004, 07:35 PM   #3
kitkatrobins
LQ Newbie

Original Poster
I assuming Fedora is part of Reh Hat (such a newbie question I know lol)..?

Old 01-15-2004, 07:36 PM   #4
king_nothingzzz

Sorry forgot to mention the version. I was with Redhat 8 for quite some time, now i am with 9, both are fine. I suggest that if you are looking at Redhat, then you stick with 9 for some time bofore jumping to Fedora

Cheers

King Nothing

Old 01-15-2004, 07:44 PM   #5
king_nothingzzz

Wink

Quote:
Originally posted by kitkatrobins
I assuming Fedora is part of Reh Hat (such a newbie question I know lol)..?
Thats alrite, everyone was a newbie at one time or the other..no one is born with the knowledge of Linux

Yes, Fedora is a part or Redhat. Fedora Project, as they call it, was sponsored by RedHat

If you want to know more about Fedora or Redhat i suggest you visit http://fedora.redhat.com/ or http://www.redhat.com

King Nothing