LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 01-02-2004, 11:35 AM   #1
xman2007
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Unhappy never tried linux whatsoever whats the easiest distro to learn?

i am totally new to linux but am sick of m$ software i aint all that clued up on command lines (whatsoever) so what would be the best linux distro to try first ?

at the moment i am running a compaq en series p2 400mhz with a ati 3d rage pro 4mb and have a usb sagem adsl modem are there any distros that would auto detect and set up my hardware ?

i really like the look of linux and want to tear away from m$, any ideas ?

Old 01-02-2004, 11:39 AM   #2
atko

Distribution: Currently Fedora Core 3

Rep: Reputation: 15
Red Hat versions 8 & 9 are easy to install and there is plenty of online support for them. Mandrake 9.2 is also easy to install and again there is plenty of online support. I would recommend either of these as they are the most popular, however you will probably find different answers, it's all a matter of personal choice. The two I have mentioned are the most popular though.

Mark.
www.stoctech.co.uk

Old 01-02-2004, 12:09 PM   #3
Whitehat

Distribution: SuSE 9.1

Rep: Reputation: 46
Welcome to Linuxquestions.org

I hope you decide to stick around.
I agree with atko. You could also try SuSE 9.0 if you like. If you don't mind buying SuSE it would be a great choice. The disadvantage is the lack of knowledge on SuSE. There is not a Forum here for it, and there are not a lot of folks who use it. It has great multimeda support and many other things.

Fedora Core from Redhat is also an option. I don't care for it.