LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password
Mandriva This Forum is for the discussion of Mandriva (Mandrake) Linux.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 11-30-2003, 10:44 PM   #1
vwracer41
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Question Setserial command not working under Mandrake 9.1

I've been able to configure my modem using the "setserial" command in Redhat 8 and Suse 8.2. I'm now trying to do the same with Mandrake 9.1. I get "command not found". What's up with that? --I'm fairly new to linux.

Old 12-01-2003, 12:40 AM   #2
paul.nel

Distribution: Gentoo, Redhat 9, SuSE 9.0, 9.2, Win XP

Rep: Reputation: 15
Are you logged in as root?

p.n

Old 12-01-2003, 01:16 AM   #3
vwracer41
LQ Newbie

Original Poster
Yes, I have tried using the command logged in as root. I'm trying to see what resources are assigned to /dev/ttyS4 using "setserial /dev/ttyS4". This method worked with Suse and RH. Is there another way to view the resources assigned here? Also, I can found no help or info for the setserial command...seems strange, but is there a package that I'm missing? All other commands work fine.

Thanks

Old 12-01-2003, 04:53 AM   #4
stv_t

Distribution: Mandrake 9.1, Mandrake 9.2, Redhat 9.0

Hi,
'Setserial' does ont get loaded by default in Mandrake so it sounds as though it has not been loaded onto the system. Go into the "Packaging" option under 'configuration' and select 'Install Software' You will need to enter the root password if you are not logged in as root. Search for 'setserial' in the 'Find' box. Select the package, hit install and insert the correct cd when asked. When finished 'setserial' should be available in '/bin'

Stv T

Old 12-01-2003, 01:50 PM   #5
insomnesiac
LQ Newbie

Distribution: Mandrake 9.1

i had the same problem before under mandrake 9.1.

here's the trick, under mandrake 9.1 you have to use 'set serial' instead of 'setserial'.