LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2003, 10:03 PM   #1
steegs
LQ Newbie

Distribution: Fedora Core 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
Grub - XP won't boot

Ok so im a real newb with this being my first install of linux. I have my system on raid0, i belive (its were the raid slots are just extra ide slots). fedora is on one raid controller and windows xp is on the other. i installed grub as the boot loader and when the grub screen appears i have two choices: fedora and windows xp (i changed the title as it used to be dos). Fedora boots up very nicely without any problems. windows xp on the other hand spits out its grub configuration:

rootnoverify(hd1,0)
chainloader +1

and beeps at me until i reboot the machine. fedora is on hd0 and windows is on hd1, so i have no idea why XP won't boot. any help would be appreciated.

thanks,
steegs the

Old 11-21-2003, 11:16 PM   #2
nikd

Distribution: redhat 9

Rep: Reputation: 15
heh...same problem here...let me know if u find a solution.

Old 11-22-2003, 06:51 AM   #3
steegs
LQ Newbie

Original Poster
oh yes, and if i pull out the drive that fedora is on, then xp boots like it did before i put in a second hd with fedora on it.

Old 11-22-2003, 07:59 AM   #4
TheOneKEA

Distribution: Debian GNU/Linux 11 (amd64) w/kernel 6.0.15

Rep: Reputation: 30
It looks like GRUB doesn't know how to boot XP from a RAID array. FWIU, you have two discrete RAID controllers in your box, both doing RAID 0. One controller has Fedora and GRUB, and the other has XP. I'm assuming that the Fedoran RAID array is part of your motherboard's southbridge, correct?

Old 11-22-2003, 08:31 AM   #5
dorian33