LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 11-15-2003, 12:54 AM   #1
Jonasx

Distribution: Gentoo

Rep: Reputation: 15
ATI 9700 Pro + Fedora 1 --- How I Did It

After literally 40+ hours on google, these forums, and all parts here and yon of the web I finally got this to work. ..Thought I would share my success story in hopes that it helps someone else...

Keep in mind as you read this I am relatively new to Linux and may (probably) will make several errors in this recounting. Some of these steps may not have been necessary, but I'm trying to include the ones that seemed to get me closer to a resolution. I think I made every mistake and looked up the solution for each.

1 -- I did a complete "everything" install, since I had the diskspace and got frustrated failing deps and/or and chasing components all around the web. This was probably not necessary but it is absolutely necessary to have the kernel source installed, which you get with an everything install. Now that I have it working and it's fresh in my mind I'll probably wipe it clean and do a re-install with what I feel I need.

2-- Recompile the kernel

I found an excellent guide on this forum for rh 8-9

threadid=91503 (sorry, cant post url's yet)

much thanks to Thetargos. Pay particular attention to the section on including radeon and agpgart as _MODULES_ , and leaving out the others in the section. This would have saved me about 10 hours.

3 -- Reboot into your new kernel (make sure you choose it as it didn't default for me) and head over ATI's site and grab their latest drivers.