LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2009, 09:16 AM   #1
Godsson
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Install symon on CentOS

Hi guys i am trying to install symon or symux (which one works i ll be fine with).

The problem is that I cant seem to install it. I get an error that says

*** missing seperator. Stop

i have tried using make and make install (same error)
i also tried using pmake and pmake install but it says pmake command not found

I am new to linux so i dont know if i am doing something wrong. I am not also sure if i have to build the install since it is not an rpm. i have just downloaded and untared from h**p://www.xs4all.nl/~wpd/symon/download.html

Please any idea how to successfully install symon on CentOS

Old 07-14-2009, 11:38 PM   #2
numba1
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 1
RE: Install symon on CentOS

I would check to see if symon is included in the Yum (package manager) repositories that CentOS provides first as this should make everything a lot easier. It will install it if it exists as well as d/l any necessary repositories with it. Type yum at a shell to get a list of commands you can run but, you will probably want do do yum search symon first. You can also check this site out if you need more help. http://www.centos.org/docs/5/html/yum/

Hope this helps

Old 07-15-2009, 09:16 AM   #3
Kenarkies

Distribution: Ubuntu 11.10

Rep: Reputation: 23
Hi Godsson