LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password
Ubuntu This forum is for the discussion of Ubuntu Linux.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2007, 10:18 PM   #1
mendiratta
LQ Newbie

Distribution: linux 9.0

Rep: Reputation: 15
Ubuntu through VMware

Hello All,
I have installed Ubunto in VMware on windows vista. It was working fine without any problem. But when i tried to compile a C language program it was not able to find the *.h files. So I tried to fetch these libraries through "sudo aptitude" command. I am new to this command, by mistake all the system files got deleted, like GRUB, terminal etc etc...
When I am trying to install these files through Ubunto CD, system is not able to recognize the CD drive itself. I tried to boot the linux again, but even its not rebooting. Please Somebody can help me in this regard. How to get back my linux??

Regards

Old 12-03-2007, 03:03 AM   #2
mat2ag
LQ Newbie

Distribution: Slackware,Redhat

Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mendiratta View Post
Hello All,
I have installed Ubunto in VMware on windows vista. It was working fine without any problem. But when i tried to compile a C language program it was not able to find the *.h files. So I tried to fetch these libraries through "sudo aptitude" command. I am new to this command, by mistake all the system files got deleted, like GRUB, terminal etc etc...
When I am trying to install these files through Ubunto CD, system is not able to recognize the CD drive itself. I tried to boot the linux again, but even its not rebooting. Please Somebody can help me in this regard. How to get back my linux??

Regards