LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2007, 06:42 PM   #1
wanghao
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: centos
Posts: 126

Rep: Reputation: 15
x86_64 ?x86_32


hi,everyone sorry to trouble you .
I need to judge a system cpu whether is x86_64 or x86_32
under linux ?How can i do ,anyone thanks!
 
Old 10-01-2007, 08:36 PM   #2
PatrickNew
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Charleston, SC, USA
Distribution: Debian, Gentoo, Ubuntu, RHEL
Posts: 1,148
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 48
use this command:
Code:
uname -i
 
Old 10-01-2007, 08:53 PM   #3
win32sux
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 9,870

Rep: Reputation: 380Reputation: 380Reputation: 380Reputation: 380
Not a security question - moved to Hardware.
 
Old 10-02-2007, 07:28 AM   #4
wahman143
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Distribution: Fedora 7, CentOS 5, Gentoo
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: 0
You can also do a

Code:
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
and that will give you info about your CPU(s).

Cheers,
W.
 
Old 10-02-2007, 12:48 PM   #5
osor
HCL Maintainer
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: (H)LFS, Gentoo
Posts: 2,450

Rep: Reputation: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatrickNew View Post
use this command:
Code:
uname -i
I think
Code:
uname -m
is more acceptable. It still doesn’t tell you whether you have an x86_64 processor—only that you are running an x86 or x86_64 kernel.
 
Old 10-02-2007, 08:23 PM   #6
wanghao
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: centos
Posts: 126

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
still puzzled.but thanks!
 
Old 10-02-2007, 09:07 PM   #7
win32sux
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 9,870

Rep: Reputation: 380Reputation: 380Reputation: 380Reputation: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanghao View Post
still puzzled.but thanks!
Puzzled how?
 
Old 10-02-2007, 09:55 PM   #8
Sepero
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 734
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 33
Post to us what this outputs:
cat /proc/cpuinfo
 
Old 10-03-2007, 07:51 PM   #9
wanghao
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: centos
Posts: 126

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
yes,all right.
it can be judged by the type of cpu.Good idea,i'm noob.
 
Old 10-04-2007, 01:59 AM   #10
kamald
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
Thumbs up Intel 64 bit architecture

For intel 64 bit architecture that is em64t
One need to check for the pni or lm (may be both) flags in /cat /proc/cpuinfo

Kamal D
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
x86_64 assembly help tomtechguy Programming 7 02-05-2007 02:20 PM
SUSE 10.1(x86_32) and Belkin Pre-N wireless card F5D8000 dui_attorney Linux - Wireless Networking 6 08-01-2006 08:34 AM
x86_64 or not? BaltikaTroika SUSE / openSUSE 4 11-30-2005 03:54 PM
Am i on x86_64? xushi Slackware 23 07-05-2005 08:01 AM
i386 or x86_64? rssguy Linux - Newbie 2 04-20-2005 07:42 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration