LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-05-2007, 08:32 AM   #1
mpooley
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Kings Lynn Norfolk UK
Distribution: obuntu
Posts: 67

Rep: Reputation: 15
why doesn't this work? ./install.sh


Hi
I am still struggling to understand all the different ways programs are installed in linux- so far everything has been a nightmare!

I am trying to install a program downloaded as a tarball.

I extracted it typed make install and a new file was created now following the instructions it says to cd to the folder and type ./install.sh
BTW install.sh is a file in the folder

what i get then is this


./install.sh: 146: function: not found

Couldn't find !
Type the full path here or press "Ctrl+C" to abort:

so i'm stumped again- i just dont understand the process? what is the ./ for?

Last edited by mpooley; 04-05-2007 at 08:34 AM.
 
Old 04-05-2007, 08:58 AM   #2
kees-jan
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, BeatrIX, OpenWRT
Posts: 273

Rep: Reputation: 30
Could you open the file install.sh with a text editor and see what is on line 146?

Also, which software and which version are you trying to install?

Groetjes,

Kees-Jan
 
Old 04-05-2007, 09:12 AM   #3
[KIA]aze
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, Windows XP
Posts: 146

Rep: Reputation: 16
Quote:
what is the ./ for?
"." is the current directory, just like ".." is the parent directory.

Unfortunately, I don't know for the install.sh.
I have already encountered, but I forgot how it works. :s

Most of the time, to install from source all you have to do is:

Quote:
./configure
make
make install
 
Old 04-05-2007, 09:28 AM   #4
mpooley
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Kings Lynn Norfolk UK
Distribution: obuntu
Posts: 67

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kees-jan
Could you open the file install.sh with a text editor and see what is on line 146?

Also, which software and which version are you trying to install?

Groetjes,

Kees-Jan
Ah 146 is the line number! ok on that line we have "function check_env {"

I am trying to install Mount ISO image 0.9.1
I tried following script examples to mount an iso myself but when i copy code none of it seems to work and i start digging a hole that keeps getting deeper LOL

so i found this program which promises to make it easy and when i follow the instructions to install it, i start the cycle all over again!!!

is it just me or what lol.
 
Old 04-05-2007, 09:33 AM   #5
mpooley
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Kings Lynn Norfolk UK
Distribution: obuntu
Posts: 67

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by [KIA]aze
"." is the current directory, just like ".." is the parent directory.

Unfortunately, I don't know for the install.sh.
I have already encountered, but I forgot how it works. :s

Most of the time, to install from source all you have to do is:
every time i have tried that it doesn't work!
i type
./configure
and get
couldn't find !
Type the full path here or press "Ctrl+C" to abort:

it seems to work for everyone else for every program if you believe all the posts that i have read but so far its never worked for me!!
 
Old 04-05-2007, 09:44 AM   #6
mpooley
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Kings Lynn Norfolk UK
Distribution: obuntu
Posts: 67

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
i've just realised that the line i gave you was not enough so here is the rest of that section
function check_env {
# parameters:
# - $1 = Description
# - $2 = Default location
# - $3 = Fallback
# -------------------------------------------------------------------------

if ( test -d "$2" ) then
DIR="$2"
elif ( test -d "$3" ) then
DIR="$3"
else
echo
while ( test ! -d "$DIR" )
do
echo "Couldn't find $1!"
echo -n "Type the full path here or press \"Ctrl+C\" to abort: "
read DIR
done
fi
DIR="`dirname "$DIR"`/`basename "$DIR"`"
echo "* $1: $DIR"

and these are the instructions i am following:

Installation
------------
0) tar -jxf mount-iso-0.9.1.tar.bz2

1) cd mount-iso-0.9.1

2) ./install.sh
Please follow installer instructions


}
 
Old 04-05-2007, 10:06 AM   #7
tredegar
LQ 5k Club
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: London, UK
Distribution: Fedora38
Posts: 6,147

Rep: Reputation: 435Reputation: 435Reputation: 435Reputation: 435Reputation: 435
The error "Couldn't find !
Type the full path here or press "Ctrl+C" to abort: "
is coming from that function in the install.sh script.

The script is expecting you to pass it three parameters, the first is some sort of description the second and third parameters are directory locations to indicate where you want the software installed. You have not passed the script these parameters, so it is failing.

When you unpacked the tarball, there should be a README file, that will explain how to install the software.

If you are just trying to read an ISO image, without burning it, you should already have all the commands you need:

mount -t iso9660 -o ro,loop /path/to/cd_image.iso /path/to/mountpoint
 
Old 04-05-2007, 10:07 AM   #8
kees-jan
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, BeatrIX, OpenWRT
Posts: 273

Rep: Reputation: 30
Argh....

Could you try typing
Code:
bash install.sh
instead?

Groetjes,

Kees-Jan
 
Old 04-05-2007, 11:48 AM   #9
mpooley
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Kings Lynn Norfolk UK
Distribution: obuntu
Posts: 67

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kees-jan
Argh....

Could you try typing
Code:
bash install.sh
instead?

Groetjes,

Kees-Jan
Hey!! that worked!!!

can you explain why?

tredegar I did read the readme and did follow the instructions to the letter
the installer is now asking me for the options.
why did bash install work? i dont understand what is bash ?? lol


this is the excerpt from the readme

Installation
------------
0) tar -jxf mount-iso-0.9.1.tar.bz2

1) cd mount-iso-0.9.1

2) ./install.sh
Please follow installer instructions
 
Old 04-05-2007, 12:00 PM   #10
jeenam
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: Slackware 11
Posts: 144

Rep: Reputation: 15
sh != bash. Most scripts are set to run using /bin/sh (#!/bin/sh).

The line 'bash install.sh' tells the script to be run by the bash shell instead of the 'sh' shell.
 
Old 04-05-2007, 12:24 PM   #11
mpooley
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Kings Lynn Norfolk UK
Distribution: obuntu
Posts: 67

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeenam
sh != bash. Most scripts are set to run using /bin/sh (#!/bin/sh).

The line 'bash install.sh' tells the script to be run by the bash shell instead of the 'sh' shell.
thanks I'm sure you understood that explanation lol but i didn't understand it much lol

i do appreciate your help but although i have programmed using oop languages in windows i only understand what a shell is by thinking of a Dos box! why there are more than one shells ( and i have heard of loads now) I just cant get my head around.

I think when you have been used to linux it is very hard to understand someone who has NEVER used a shell - not even dos (only a long time a go and as little as possible) it must seem that i'm stupid (ok ok i aint as bright as i used to be lol) but honestly this is really hard.

I have been asked by that script whether i want to use sudo or kdesu??? i mean you have to be an expert just to install a program that i want to make my life easier!!!

I just entered kdesu and went back to the instructions on the website and followed the instructions again
right click iso file select manage iso/ mount iso = i get a inf window saying its now mounted - but i cant find it! it isnt in .mnt or .media

i think i'll not bother jeez lol you gotta laugh

sorry if i'm ranting but
 
Old 04-05-2007, 04:10 PM   #12
kees-jan
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, BeatrIX, OpenWRT
Posts: 273

Rep: Reputation: 30
I can't really blame you for ranting, it is just that rants are a bit harder to follow. I have no idea where, if at all, you are stuck.

To explain the previous (I intended to post an explanation after you confirmed my suspicion): There are several shell scripting languages in linux. Every shell script, on its very first line, has to specify which shell is needed to run the script. The first line of your script will read:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
indicating that shell /bin/sh should be used to execute the script.

Traditionally, "bash" and "sh" are different shells (languages), where "bash" is a superset of "sh". On most Linuxes, however, the actual interpreter for both is the same: 'bash'. Hence, many scripts exist on Linux, that declare that they want to be executed using "/bin/sh", while in fact they use the "bash" language. The install script you currently have apparently is one of them.

Ubuntu breaks this tradition of "bash" and "sh" secretly using the same interpreter. Hence, scripts that suffer the problem, above, will break on ubuntu with very vague errors, as you have noticed. There are several ways of restoring the "bash==sh" tradition, which might be a good idea if you are new to all of this, I'm just not sure which one to recommend. Also, I'm not sure you should be installing packages this way in the first place. More about that later :-)

To finish up this subject, the line "bash install.sh" tells linux to use the "bash" interpreter to execute the script, regardless of what the script itself specifies. Hence it functions as the script-writer intended.

On to the next subject:
If you have mounted something, but cannot locate it, start a shell, and type
Code:
mount
This will show you everything that is currently mounted and where, although maybe in a somewhat cryptic format.

As a side note:
Ubuntu makes heavy use of "sudo", while "kdesu" sounds kde-specific. I did not study mount-iso in detail, but when given the choice between "sudo" and anything else, your safest bet is "sudo", at least on ubuntu :-)

Last topic:
Being relative new to Linux, I think you are much happier installing software using the package manager. There is an enormous amount of software available (though admittedly not everything) within the ubuntu environment, just a few clicks away from being installed and actually working ;-)

As a first (and one-time) step, click "system->administration->software sources". On the "Ubuntu 6.10" tab (assuming that's what you have), be sure to enable "universe", "main" and "multiverse" (unless you choose not to use "multiverse" for ethical reasons). Click close. That should vastly expand the number of packages you can install.

Next, click "system->administration->synaptic package manager" to launch the package manager. Play around with the "search" function, see if you can locate any software you need. For mounting isos, I think maybe "gisomount" is a good choice. I have not actually tried it myself, but it sounds like it has a graphical UI, and since you can install it from the package manager, installation should be a breeze. It is in the "universe" repository you enabled earlier, which may be why you missed it before.

Please let us know how it goes ;-)

Groetjes,

Kees-Jan
 
Old 04-05-2007, 06:20 PM   #13
mpooley
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Kings Lynn Norfolk UK
Distribution: obuntu
Posts: 67

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
thanks

I ran "Mount" before and after i mounted the iso but there was no difference and i couldn't see anything obviously to do with the iso .

I also did what you said with synaptic but a search fo gisomount came up empty
 
Old 04-06-2007, 01:08 AM   #14
kees-jan
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, BeatrIX, OpenWRT
Posts: 273

Rep: Reputation: 30
If "mount" doesn't show any difference, then the iso is not mounted. As I am not using mount-iso myself, I cannot be of much assistance there.

I just verified that the search in synaptic works for me. Could you, just to be sure, post the content of your "/etc/apt/sources.list" file?

Thanks

Kees-Jan
 
Old 04-06-2007, 05:44 AM   #15
mpooley
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: Kings Lynn Norfolk UK
Distribution: obuntu
Posts: 67

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Thanks for you time- sorry to be such a pain::
here is the list

deb http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy main restricted
deb-src http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy main restricted

## Major bug fix updates produced after the final release of the
## distribution.
deb http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy-updates main restricted
deb-src http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy-updates main restricted

## Uncomment the following two lines to add software from the 'universe'
## repository.
## N.B. software from this repository is ENTIRELY UNSUPPORTED by the Ubuntu
## team, and may not be under a free licence. Please satisfy yourself as to
## your rights to use the software. Also, please note that software in
## universe WILL NOT receive any review or updates from the Ubuntu security
## team.
# deb http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy universe
# deb-src http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy universe

## Uncomment the following two lines to add software from the 'backports'
## repository.
## N.B. software from this repository may not have been tested as
## extensively as that contained in the main release, although it includes
## newer versions of some applications which may provide useful features.
## Also, please note that software in backports WILL NOT receive any review
## or updates from the Ubuntu security team.
# deb http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
# deb-src http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ edgy-backports main restricted universe multiverse

deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy-security main restricted
deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy-security main restricted
# deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy-security universe
# deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy-security universe

#AUTOMATIX REPOS START

deb http://dl.google.com/linux/deb/ stable non-free

deb http://www.getautomatix.com/apt edgy main

deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu edgy-commercial main

deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy-backports main restricted universe multiverse

deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy-updates universe multiverse

deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy-security main restricted universe multiverse

deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu edgy universe multiverse
#AUTOMATIX REPOS END
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
install.sh does not work kuertensun Debian 7 06-30-2005 08:56 PM
Cannot get 9.2 CD to work for install at5147 Mandriva 1 04-25-2004 10:47 PM
i cant install anything or get anything to work!! karupt Linux - Software 2 03-04-2004 10:55 AM
SuSE problems; Mouse doesn't work, Wine won't install, WM won't install... Konig Linux - Distributions 1 01-21-2004 11:05 PM
X does not work after partial install install of glibc using up2date barryjones Red Hat 3 11-25-2003 04:16 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration