LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2007, 05:17 PM   #1
igolden
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Unhappy ASRock ConRoe945G-DVI Motherboard

Hello folks!

Im completely new to Linux; just installed Fedora Core 2. I have a problem with my motherboard (ASRock ConRoe945G-DVI) since the ethernet card (built in the board)is not recognized and therefore i have not opportunity to get online!

hope to hearing from you soon

cheers!

Old 03-19-2007, 06:20 PM   #2
jay73
LQ Guru

Distribution: Ubuntu 11.04, Debian testing

Rep: Reputation: 133Reputation: 133
Well, if you have rather new hardware, that was almost inevitable. Could you let me know why you installed Fedora Core 2? That is and old, old distribution by now. The current one is Fedora Core 6 and number 7 is just around the corner. Surely you don't expect an old operating system to recognize hardware that was not available yet when it was released? You do need something more recent.

Old 03-20-2007, 05:27 PM   #3
igolden
LQ Newbie

Original Poster
I checked it out and it is actually Fedora Core 6, as I told you I am a complete newbie!!

The motherboard i really new (just bought it a couple of months ago)

Old 03-20-2007, 05:45 PM   #4
jay73
LQ Guru

It might help if you were a bit more specific about the NIC in question. Most of us just can't possibly know all the components of each and every motherboard.