LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2006, 08:59 PM   #1
bob3dan
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Posts: 41

Rep: Reputation: 15
Mounting ntfs in Fedora core 6


Can someone help me mount my ntfs partion in fedora core 6?
 
Old 11-08-2006, 10:00 PM   #2
glussier
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Location: Montreal, Qc, Canada
Distribution: Fedora Core 5/6 Slackware 10.1/11
Posts: 120

Rep: Reputation: 15
Fedora can't mount ntfs partition unless you install the ntfs support.

I'll show you how to get read/write access to your ntfs partitions.

Open a command console: (make sure extra repository is available in yum)

Code:
su -
yum -y install fuse fuse-libs fuse-devel ntfs-3g
modprobe fuse
lsmod
Create a mount point for you ntfs partition. In my example /windows/C

so in a console again:

Code:
su
mkdir /windows/C
Edit /etc/fstab and add a line at the and of the file (not forgetting to press enter at the end of the line), similar to the one below:

Code:
/dev/hda1  /windows/C  ntfs-3g	silent,umask=0002,utf8=true
Reboot your computer and you should have access to your ntfs partition.

Last edited by glussier; 11-08-2006 at 10:01 PM.
 
Old 11-09-2006, 08:40 PM   #3
FredGSanford
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Distribution: Mageia 7 - Debian 10 - Artix Linux
Posts: 1,142
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 207Reputation: 207Reputation: 207
Code:
Fedora can't mount ntfs partition unless you install the ntfs support.
Why, because read support not included with the stock kernel?
 
Old 11-09-2006, 08:58 PM   #4
glussier
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Location: Montreal, Qc, Canada
Distribution: Fedora Core 5/6 Slackware 10.1/11
Posts: 120

Rep: Reputation: 15
No it's not, you have to install the ntfs support as a module.
 
Old 11-10-2006, 08:07 PM   #5
FredGSanford
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Distribution: Mageia 7 - Debian 10 - Artix Linux
Posts: 1,142
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 207Reputation: 207Reputation: 207
Ok, thnx. I'm getting ready to try FC6 and was just curious as to how it works.
 
Old 11-10-2006, 08:52 PM   #6
glussier
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Location: Montreal, Qc, Canada
Distribution: Fedora Core 5/6 Slackware 10.1/11
Posts: 120

Rep: Reputation: 15
Don't let the fact that you have to install an ntfs, or ntfs-3g push you away from trying Fedora Core 6, in my opinion, Fedora Core 6 is probably the best Fedora release yet.
 
Old 12-24-2006, 05:46 AM   #7
arindom
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Location: India
Distribution: Ubuntu 21.04
Posts: 168

Rep: Reputation: 30
I need help on read/write access of my NTFS partition in Fedora 6. I did the steps as suggested here by glussier, but I am facing some problem.

a) I had initially installed read access of my windows drive and my present fstab has this entry at the last line.
/dev/hda1 /mnt/windows ntfs ro,defaults,umask=0222 0 0

b) After installing ntfs-3g as specified, when I am trying to put this line
/dev/hda1 /mnt/windows ntfs-3g silent,umask=0002,utf8=true

as against the earlier line and reboot, I am getting error saying /dev/fuse write permission error, while booting.

Can you suggest what should I do or where I am going wrong?
 
Old 12-25-2006, 01:27 AM   #8
boy_to_man
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Posts: 54

Rep: Reputation: 15
HI all
@arindom: u can use below command to mount ur ntfs partition if u use Fedora 6.0 (me too)

#sudo ./mount.ntfs-3g /dev/hda1 /mnt/Windows
u can read/write

@Everyone
i have a small question
i can muont and can read/write/execute all file on Ntfs partition.But after reboot i must type again above command if i want use ntfs part.
So, have anyway can help my machine auto mount Ntfs partition after reboot ?

Thanks for any reply

Last edited by boy_to_man; 12-25-2006 at 01:30 AM.
 
Old 12-25-2006, 01:29 AM   #9
Nylex
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: London, UK
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,464

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Add an entry to your /etc/fstab file for your NTFS partition. See this and man fstab for some info.
 
Old 12-25-2006, 02:16 PM   #10
edriv
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Location: Gradisca (Italy)
Distribution: Fedora Core 10
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: 0
Hi. If I mount from root, it works great (read+write).

But if I try to mount it from my user, I get some "permission denied" errors:
Code:
bash-3.1$ mount /extern
Error opening partition device: Permission denied
Failed to startup volume: Permission denied
Failed to mount '/dev/sda1': Permission denied
This is my fstab:
Code:
bash-3.1$ cat /etc/fstab
LABEL=/1                /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
/dev/hda5               /dati                   vfat    defaults,user,umask=000         0 0
devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
/dev/hda2               /win                    vfat    defaults,user,umask=000         0 0
LABEL=SWAP-hda6         swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
/dev/sda1               /extern                 ntfs-3g defaults,silent,force,umask=0000,utf8=true,users,exec,rw        0 0
As you can see, I have tried to put every option I knew in the last line but it still doesn't word! Can anybody help me?
 
Old 12-25-2006, 09:46 PM   #11
arindom
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Location: India
Distribution: Ubuntu 21.04
Posts: 168

Rep: Reputation: 30
Still it is not working, I can mount from prompt but when I am adding the following line in my /etc/fstab same problem persists.

/dev/hda1 /mnt/windows ntfs-3g silent,umask=0002,utf8=true

Kindly suggest further action.
 
Old 01-14-2007, 07:59 PM   #12
salvatruco
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
my fstab - works for me

LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
LABEL=SWAP-hdh2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hdf1 /mnt/Backup ntfs-3g rw,defaults,umask=0000 0 0
/dev/hdf5 /mnt/Backup2 ntfs-3g rw,defaults,umask=0000 0 0
/dev/hdf6 /mnt/Emulation ntfs-3g rw,defaults,umask=0000 0 0
/dev/hda2 /mnt/C ntfs-3g rw,defaults,umask-0000 0 0
/dev/hde6 /mnt/hd ext3 defaults 0 0
/dev/hdg6 /mnt/hd0 ext3 defaults 0 0
 
Old 01-15-2007, 01:43 PM   #13
nirmaltom
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Location: India
Distribution: Redhat,Fedora,DSL,Ubuntu
Posts: 238

Rep: Reputation: 30
hi,
i too have the same,even had a thread for it in security forum.The problem is due to selinux.

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux > Linux - Security > selinux troubles from mounting foreign partitions

http://www.ntfs-3g.org/support.html#selinux

try using audit2allow command

regards,
Nirmal Tom
 
Old 01-16-2007, 01:49 AM   #14
arindom
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Location: India
Distribution: Ubuntu 21.04
Posts: 168

Rep: Reputation: 30
I tried the following command and got the error :

# audit2allow -M local < /var/log/audit/audit.log

-----------------Error-----------------
audit2allow -M local < /var/log/messages
/usr/bin/audit2allow: -M Requires the checkmodule command, you need to install the checkpolicy rpm package
----------------------------------------

Then I have installed the same by

# yum install checkpolicy

It installed successfully and then again I used the audit2allow command and got the following error message

-----------------Error------------------
Generating type enforcment file: local.te
Compiling policy
checkmodule -M -m -o local.mod local.te
/usr/bin/audit2allow: (unknown source)::WARNING 'unrecognized character' at token '=' on line 4:
class chr_file { DriveReady Error LastFailedSense=0x03 SeekComplete read write };
require {
(unknown source)::ERROR 'syntax error' at token '0' on line 4:
class chr_file { DriveReady Error LastFailedSense=0x03 SeekComplete read write };
require {
checkmodule: error(s) encountered while parsing configuration
checkmodule: loading policy configuration from local.te
-------------------------------------------

As advised by SeLinux I am ignoring the error and continuing. Hopefully this time I will not be required to unmount manually.

I will update again about the result.

EDIT
----
No, even after this I have to unmount manually before shutdown. The error message has something calle "APC error". I am not sure of the message because by then the PC is off. There is nothing in /var/log/messages.

Last edited by arindom; 01-16-2007 at 04:07 AM.
 
Old 01-16-2007, 01:53 AM   #15
arindom
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Location: India
Distribution: Ubuntu 21.04
Posts: 168

Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by salvatruco
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
LABEL=SWAP-hdh2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hdf1 /mnt/Backup ntfs-3g rw,defaults,umask=0000 0 0
/dev/hdf5 /mnt/Backup2 ntfs-3g rw,defaults,umask=0000 0 0
/dev/hdf6 /mnt/Emulation ntfs-3g rw,defaults,umask=0000 0 0
/dev/hda2 /mnt/C ntfs-3g rw,defaults,umask-0000 0 0
/dev/hde6 /mnt/hd ext3 defaults 0 0
/dev/hdg6 /mnt/hd0 ext3 defaults 0 0

Thanks for your reply, but it is not working with me. Still I have to unmount Windows partition as root before shutting down. May be the SELinux trick works.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
troubles mounting my NTFS partition in Fedora Core adamzty Linux - Newbie 1 08-28-2006 04:25 PM
fedora core 3 ntfs mounting rusty_slacker Linux - General 5 07-06-2005 05:23 PM
Mounting NTFS in Fedora core 3 alexsmith2k Linux - Hardware 16 04-10-2005 07:03 AM
mounting ntfs partitions on fedora core 2 amebimus Linux - Newbie 7 04-03-2005 11:27 AM
mounting ntfs format patitions from fedora core person#6661067 Linux - Newbie 2 11-08-2004 08:03 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration