LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking > Linux - Wireless Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Wireless Networking This forum is for the discussion of wireless networking in Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-15-2006, 11:47 AM   #1
toes
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Arkansas
Distribution: Mandy 2006, FC5
Posts: 154

Rep: Reputation: 30
I broke my routing table


Some weeks ago (ok, I'm a bit slow to fix things) while changing the home network up a bit, I broke my routing table - and maybe some other things. Now, whenever I restart the machine, I have to set up the network adapter again (I use Mandriva's graphical utility), and then I have to add my router back in as the gateway, which I do by the little script below. This is required every time, and the order can't be changed or else no conn.

Code:
#!/bin/bash
# temp to start up nic
#
/sbin/route add -net 0.0.0.0 gw 192.168.2.1 eth0
By the way, Mandy's network setup utility still brings up the correct values, so it hasn't forgotten them. They're just not applying on startup for some reason. I just click through the 'next' and 'ok' buttons and it's good to go.

Any ideas how I've broken this and how to fix it?
 
Old 07-15-2006, 01:47 PM   #2
toes
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Arkansas
Distribution: Mandy 2006, FC5
Posts: 154

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Ok, after some digging, I think I've managed to correct the actual routing problem. I had to edit /etc/sysconfig/network to show the proper gateway device was the installed NIC and not the previous one. I don't know why the GUI wouldn't do that.

There's still the problem of needing to manually set up the network interface each time. An ifconfig right after a fresh boot shows only the loopback device. Entering 'ifconfig eth0 192.168.2.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 up' reports no device present. The card shows up in the graphical hardware list. After setting up the device through the network GUI wizard, everything operates as it should. Even if I drop to init 1 and then back to 3 or 5, the card is still recognized. Only a reboot kills it.

What's the solution?


*edit... changed filename above. Sorry for the confusion.

Last edited by toes; 07-15-2006 at 01:59 PM.
 
Old 07-15-2006, 04:46 PM   #3
toes
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Arkansas
Distribution: Mandy 2006, FC5
Posts: 154

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
More info.

Card uses tulip module when running properly, but this doesn't show up on lsmod after boot. ndiswrapper was still there from the wireless that I removed, so I commented that out from modprobe.preload and modprobe.conf. Also, I can't insmod tulip, which one site suggested. But tulip does show up in the lsmod list after setting up a new connection through the GUI wizard.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
routing table arvind kumar Linux - Networking 2 06-08-2005 11:59 PM
Help with a Routing Table maginotjr Linux - Networking 4 06-06-2005 09:49 AM
Damn win - it broke my partition table pe2338 Linux - Hardware 3 10-21-2003 02:52 AM
routing table upr8830 Linux - Networking 6 06-18-2003 03:04 AM
Internet routing broke CurlyMo Linux - Networking 5 04-07-2003 03:55 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking > Linux - Wireless Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration