LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password
Ubuntu This forum is for the discussion of Ubuntu Linux.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 07-11-2006, 03:29 PM   #1
cucolin@

Distribution: Ubuntu, CentOS, RedHat

Rep: Reputation: 31
Question GUI for Ubuntu Server?

Hi guys, I'm very new to Ubuntu. Here at work we are planning to install Ubuntu Server. We wanted to know if Ubuntu Server comes with a GUI or is it only text mode?

Thanks for the help, I have been looking for this answer for hours.

Old 07-11-2006, 03:41 PM   #2
pljvaldez
LQ Guru

Distribution: Debian Wheezy (x86)

Rep: Reputation: 281Reputation: 281Reputation: 281
I don't know, but it is easy to add one if you need to. After install, you'd just have to sudo aptitude install x-window-system-core gnome-core (or gnome if you want all the bells and whistles of a full desktop environment). If you also want a gui login, then also install gdm.

In general, servers will be text only out of the box because running X is considered an unnecessary security risk. Servers usually want as few services running as possible to keep them secure and running quickly.

1 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-11-2006, 04:03 PM   #3
fragos

Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10

Rep: Reputation: 51
Ubuntu server is a command line distro. It is a subset of Ubuntu. It performs no function that Ubuntu, Kubuntu and Xubuntu don't also perform. Server requires less memory to run. Its fine for a server only box. If however you are trying to get more performance out of an older desktop system, I'd look at Xubuntu since it has a minimalist GUI.

Old 07-12-2006, 11:56 AM   #4
cucolin@

Distribution: Ubuntu, CentOS, RedHat

Original Poster
So should I use Xubuntu for server purposes? We are going to use LAMP. Is it useful to have a graphical interface for this??

Thanks...