LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2006, 07:05 AM   #1
lein

Distribution: Mint 14/16 & Raspbian

Rep: Reputation: 23
Multiple Linux Distrubitions One Machine

All,

How are we all?
---- If you aren't interested in the background skip down to the FUN ----

I am relatively new to Linux and thought I would post my trials and tribulations of the last week while installing a single computer with multiple Linux distributions and keeping Uncle Bill's eXcruciatingly Painful OS for the odd game of Far Cry or FEAR.

Let's see where to start. First off the computer is an AMD Athlon 64. Running 1GB ram. 2 x Sata HDDs (200GB + 250GB). nVidia 6600GT graphics card.

What I did.
Created a partition on the 250GB HDD of 100GB and copied all my various bits and pieces collected over the last few years, funny videos, mp3s, email's and the like. This was to save them when I repartitioned in anticipation of installing Kubuntu 6.06 in place of the neglected Mandrake 10.1 previous co-inhabitant with XP.

So creating a 10GB ntfs partition I set out to install XP on the 200GB HDD in pride of place sda1.

With windows sorted I turned my attention to installing Kubuntu. Which worked flawlessly. With the installation going so smoothly I wondered how hard it would be to install not one Linux but two, three or more.

---- HERE BEGINS THE FUN ----

So with the thought of trialing and possibly keeping multiple distributions of linux co-inhabiting my computer I set out to reorganise my partitions, again!

This is the result and I will explain why:
sda1 10GB ntfs Windows XP
sda2 150GB ext3 /home
sda3 25GB ext / [Kubuntu]