LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - General > LinuxQuestions.org Member Success Stories
User Name
Password
LinuxQuestions.org Member Success Stories Just spent four hours configuring your favorite program? Just figured out a Linux problem that has been stumping you for months?
Post your Linux Success Stories here.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 04-05-2006, 10:43 PM   #1
vmlinuz.gz

Rep: Reputation: 15
How I got Debian 3.1 to do everything Windows can.

I'm a beginning programming student and computer science major and thought it would be worth it to try something besides Windows for a change. I felt that trying Linux and learning it about would benefit my education.

Naturally, like most Linux beginners, I had a few problems getting it to work right. Luckily, I found LinuxQuestions.org. It helped me substantially. Also, having connections to an IT worker didn't help either.

So, for anyone who is bored, I've decided to write about how I got my Debian system up and running from the beginning to the end.

Step #1: Installation.

I've heard from numerous sources that installing Linux (and Debian in particular), was a difficult process. I've found this to be ridiculously false. In fact, I thought it was easier then Windows, and I even had a recently installed hard drive and partition resizing to deal with.