LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-04-2017, 05:04 AM   #1
Mrunal
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2017
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
xscreensaver: How to play slideshow of images from a particular folder


Hi

I have a set of images and I wanted to set these images as my screensaver(in slideshow mode).

Quote:
Here are the steps I followed,
1. Run command xscreensaver-demo
2. xscreensaver configurtion dialog is opned
3. "Advanced" tab > "Image Manipulation" section > selcted "Choose Random Image" option and mentioned images folder path.
3. "Display modes" tab > Mode : "only one Screen saver" is selected.
and now I wanted to play a slideshow of images whose path I have mentioned above in xscreensaver configuration dialog(step 3). Even I specified the images path I am not able to see my images it shows one default 'circuit" image.

Please guide me to how to play slideshow of my selected images. Is there any other setting I have to do?

Quote:
Linux : Fedora 12
Do reply

Thanks in advance
- Mrunal
 
Old 07-04-2017, 06:18 AM   #2
jamison20000e
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: ...uncanny valley... infinity\1975; (randomly born:) Milwaukee, WI, US( + travel,) Earth&Mars (I wish,) END BORDER$!◣◢┌∩┐ Fe26-E,e...
Distribution: any GPL that work on freest-HW; has been KDE, CLI, Novena-SBC but open.. http://goo.gl/NqgqJx &c ;-)
Posts: 4,888
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 1567Reputation: 1567Reputation: 1567Reputation: 1567Reputation: 1567Reputation: 1567Reputation: 1567Reputation: 1567Reputation: 1567Reputation: 1567Reputation: 1567
Hi.

It may help some to know what DE\WM, have you seen this page?: https://www.jwz.org/xscreensaver/faq.html#slideshow

Add a quick search: https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2042920

Last edited by jamison20000e; 07-04-2017 at 06:20 AM.
 
Old 07-04-2017, 10:28 AM   #3
IsaacKuo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Distribution: Debian Stable
Posts: 2,546
Blog Entries: 8

Rep: Reputation: 465Reputation: 465Reputation: 465Reputation: 465Reputation: 465
Make sure the folder specified is truly the one you want, and not a (probably non-existent) subfolder of it. The UI of xscreensaver has a counterintuitive "bug" where it will try to use a particular subfolder rather than the folder you specify. You need to explicitly delete the subfolder name when choosing a different folder.
 
Old 07-05-2017, 08:47 AM   #4
Mrunal
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2017
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamison20000e View Post
Hi.

It may help some to know what DE\WM, have you seen this page?: https://www.jwz.org/xscreensaver/faq.html#slideshow

Add a quick search: https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2042920
Thank u so much for Reply.
I have already tried that but It was not working for me. After going through all the available solutions and tutorials I put my question here.
 
Old 07-05-2017, 08:48 AM   #5
Mrunal
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2017
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by IsaacKuo View Post
Make sure the folder specified is truly the one you want, and not a (probably non-existent) subfolder of it. The UI of xscreensaver has a counterintuitive "bug" where it will try to use a particular subfolder rather than the folder you specify. You need to explicitly delete the subfolder name when choosing a different folder.
Yeah. I checked it and it is that folder only.

Thank u for reply
 
Old 07-05-2017, 09:00 AM   #6
BW-userx
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Location: Somewhere in my head.
Distribution: Slackware (15 current), Slack15, Ubuntu studio, MX Linux, FreeBSD 13.1, WIn10
Posts: 10,342

Rep: Reputation: 2242Reputation: 2242Reputation: 2242Reputation: 2242Reputation: 2242Reputation: 2242Reputation: 2242Reputation: 2242Reputation: 2242Reputation: 2242Reputation: 2242
xscreensaver has a setup thingy in that thing that you click then direct it to the directory you want to use to have it display the images. from memory - after selecting the show images screensaver in that list then select something like setup for it then tell it where they are. save and done.
 
Old 07-05-2017, 09:01 AM   #7
IsaacKuo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Distribution: Debian Stable
Posts: 2,546
Blog Entries: 8

Rep: Reputation: 465Reputation: 465Reputation: 465Reputation: 465Reputation: 465
Which screen saver is selected? It sounds like "Circuit" is selected (which is not an image, but rather a 3d thing with a bunch of electronic objects drifting in space over a grid).

You have to select a screen saver which actually loads images and does something with them. Many of them do; many do not.

For example, GLSlideshow and Carousel select images from the designated source (in your case, a folder of images). Circuit and others like PopSquares do not utilize images from the designated source. They will ignore that setting.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-05-2017, 06:42 PM   #8
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu MATE, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 19,312
Blog Entries: 28

Rep: Reputation: 6137Reputation: 6137Reputation: 6137Reputation: 6137Reputation: 6137Reputation: 6137Reputation: 6137Reputation: 6137Reputation: 6137Reputation: 6137Reputation: 6137
Is this true Xscreensaver or gnome-screensaver? (If it's gnome-screensaver, nuke it and replace it with Xscreensaver.)

The proper Xscreensaver selection to use is GL Slideshow for a plain slideshow. In the "Advanced-->Image Manipulation" dialog, select "Choose Random Image," then specify the desired directory. I have found that using the "Browse" dialog is not always adequate unless you empty the path statement first; it tends to append the newly selected directory to the full path already in the dialog, rather than replace the entire path.

Once you've selected a folder, verify that the complete path is accurate.

There are a number of other Xscreensaver selections that manipulate images, including Flipscreen3D, Distort, Decay Screen, Twang, Ripples, RotZoomer, Photopile, MirrorBlob, Jigsaw, and AntSpotlight, just to mention a few.

See man xscreensaver for more.

Last edited by frankbell; 07-05-2017 at 06:43 PM.
 
Old 07-06-2017, 01:45 AM   #9
Mrunal
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2017
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Thumbs up It works now

Quote:
Originally Posted by IsaacKuo View Post
Which screen saver is selected? It sounds like "Circuit" is selected (which is not an image, but rather a 3d thing with a bunch of electronic objects drifting in space over a grid).

You have to select a screen saver which actually loads images and does something with them. Many of them do; many do not.

For example, GLSlideshow and Carousel select images from the designated source (in your case, a folder of images). Circuit and others like PopSquares do not utilize images from the designated source. They will ignore that setting.

Thank you. It works now. I have selected GLSlideshow, mode="only one screensaver" and placed images of required dimensions in "image directory" and it works.
Thanks a ton.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multi-monitor spanning xscreensaver picture slideshow? Tachtory Linux - Software 0 06-20-2014 08:44 AM
Xscreensaver Carousel/GL Slideshow Background Color frankbell Linux - Desktop 0 08-31-2011 08:04 PM
[SOLVED] play slideshow/folder with images (automatically) Peterken Linux - Software 2 12-20-2009 06:15 PM
extract images from slideshow erimar77 General 4 04-02-2006 10:07 AM
Slideshow on images folder dlublink Linux - Newbie 8 02-09-2005 07:59 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration