LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2006, 06:51 PM   #1
Infernolinux

Distribution: Ubuntu, currently.

Rep: Reputation: 15
Is Slackware worth it?

I have the installation discs ready, but i want to know is it worth the change from Ubuntu and Debian?

Old 01-06-2006, 06:52 PM   #2
AxeZ

Distribution: Slackware, FreeBSD

Rep: Reputation: 32
You'll never know unless you give it a shot....

Old 01-06-2006, 06:57 PM   #3

Distribution: Slackware 11

Rep: Reputation: 30
At least give it an honest shot. It is not for everyone but I remember thinking about your question myself at one point.

I tried Slackware. I started learning. I loved how stuff "just worked" in many regards. I liked the "in your face" linux approach compared to the "hand-holding" that many distros try and do to users.

Me? I was wondering whether Slackware would be worth it. That was years ago, by the way. And, my distro of choice now? Still Slackware. Never looked back once I got a taste of it.

Good luck with it. I hope you enjoy it as much as many others do.

Old 01-06-2006, 07:19 PM   #4
zhy2111314

Distribution: redhat(Fedora Core)->Debian Sid->Slackware

KISS - keep it simple and stupid
That's good choice!

Old 01-06-2006, 08:34 PM   #5
Jeebizz

Distribution: Slackware15.0 64-Bit Desktop, Debian 11 non-free Toshiba Satellite Notebook

Rep: Reputation: 1376Reputation: 1376Reputation: 1376Reputation: 1376Reputation: 1376Reputation: 1376Reputation: 1376Reputation: 1376Reputation: 1376Reputation: 1376