LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2005, 10:11 PM   #1
MrVahn

Distribution: Gentoo

Rep: Reputation: 15
Can I access my windows partition in Linux?

I am a complete noob in Linux, but I want to learn this OS. My primary problem is that I cannot access my windows partition. I am running SUSE 10 with both Gnome and KDE installed, but I use Gnome more often than KDE. Well, the question is.. How?

BTW

I have 3 Windows partitions. All are formatted in FAT32. My windows partition is WinXP..

Old 12-26-2005, 10:24 PM   #2
kvnband

Distribution: Suse 10.2

Yes you can access your windows partition in Linux. First the partitions have to be mounted. Open up a console, and open up /etc/fstab. What are its contents? (You will have to be root). Mine are the following:

Code:
# This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
/dev/hda5 / ext3 defaults 1 1
/dev/hda7 /home ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom auto umask=0,user,iocharset=iso8859-1,codepage=850,noauto,ro,exec,users 0 0
/dev/hdd /mnt/cdrom2 auto umask=0,user,iocharset=iso8859-1,codepage=850,noauto,ro,exec,users 0 0
none /mnt/floppy supermount dev=/dev/fd0,fs=ext2:vfat,--,umask=0,iocharset=iso8859-1,sync,codepage=850 0 0
/dev/hda1 /mnt/win_c ntfs umask=0,nls=iso8859-1,rw 0 0
/dev/hdb1 /mnt/win_c2 ext3 umask=0,nls=iso8859-1,rw 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/hda6 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hda1 is MY main windows partition. That line means that I can navigate to /mnt/win_c and access the drive. The line following that is my storage drive, and that line says that I can navigate to /mnt/win_c2 to access it.

See, simple ;-)

Old 12-26-2005, 11:32 PM   #3
rickh