LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora > Fedora - Installation
User Name
Password
Fedora - Installation This forum is for the discussion of installation issues with Fedora.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 04-18-2005, 03:35 PM   #1
MajorDownTime
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
RHFL3 Bible DVD install errors

I am new to Linux and I got the Red hat fedora linux 3 bible book and it has a DVD install disk. I am having some problems with the install.

The install starts fine then on just about every "Next" click i get a lot of errors ("Assertion (heads <256 ) at disk_dos.c:486 in function probe_partition_for_geom() failed" and "Assertion ((c*heads+H) * sectors +s ==A) at disk_dos.c:495 failed") then when it gets ready for the final install it craps out and give me a "save errors to disk" option. I have that text file saved and I can add it to this message. OK maybe I can't but I can send it to who ever would like it just leave me a message and an email and ill send it. File is called "anacdump" and it is 728 kb in size.

Thanks to anyone that is willing to take the time to help me with this. I don't want to have wasted all this money for this book

Randy

Last edited by MajorDownTime; 04-18-2005 at 04:50 PM.

Old 04-19-2005, 09:17 AM   #2
WhatsHisName

Distribution: RHEL, AltimaLinux, Rocky

Rep: Reputation: 46
It has to do with a bug in parted, which creates the disk partitions. Look at this thread for ways to work around the problem:

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...hreadid=304039

When you get an error message, try searching this forum for the error and you will usually find lots of information about it.

Old 04-20-2005, 09:17 AM   #3
MajorDownTime
LQ Newbie

Original Poster
Quote:
Originally posted by WhatsHisName
It has to do with a bug in parted, which creates the disk partitions. Look at this thread for ways to work around the problem: