LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Complete CCNA, CCNP & Red Hat Certification Training Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-25-2017, 11:13 AM   #31
Birdman48
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Location: Southern Maryland
Distribution: ubuntu 14.04 LTS
Posts: 112

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1

ok it's 13.2 and I have tried to configure wireless but I'm not sure I
have it right. I tried:
NetworkSetupMethod: Wicked
managed (as opposed to ad-hoc)
dynamic ip
Authentication mode : WEP sharedr

and a combination of those but to no avail
 
Old 03-25-2017, 12:12 PM   #32
TB0ne
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, Slack,CentOS
Posts: 18,886

Rep: Reputation: 4258Reputation: 4258Reputation: 4258Reputation: 4258Reputation: 4258Reputation: 4258Reputation: 4258Reputation: 4258Reputation: 4258Reputation: 4258Reputation: 4258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Birdman48 View Post
ok it's 13.2 and I have tried to configure wireless but I'm not sure I
have it right. I tried:
NetworkSetupMethod: Wicked
managed (as opposed to ad-hoc)
dynamic ip
Authentication mode : WEP sharedr

and a combination of those but to no avail
So you're using 13.2, fine....so what desktop environment are you using? First thing I'd do is to use NetworkManager instead of wicked, to make things easier for yourself. And unless your access point is managed...it won't work. Most are ad-hoc, and most don't use WEP either, but WPA.

Go to yast, change to network manager, and go through the nework manager icon in your system tray to configure a connection. I can almost GUARANTEE you're using WPA Personal and ad-hoc, if your access point is fairly new.
 
Old 03-25-2017, 06:21 PM   #33
Birdman48
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Location: Southern Maryland
Distribution: ubuntu 14.04 LTS
Posts: 112

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
I go to Yast -> network services and get this warning:
Network is currently handled by NetworkManager or completely disabled
Yast is unable to configure some options
I click OK and when I get the dialog interface, I am unable to
edit (no Add, Edit, or Delete - it's greyed out)

edit: check this out.
After I closed Yast, I fiddled with Fn+F2 and Fn+F5 and hovered over the ethernet icon in the
taskbar to see several available connections and that the wifi was enabled!
However I still cannot connect using wireless.
Think I need to configure card properly.

Last edited by Birdman48; 03-25-2017 at 06:51 PM.
 
Old 03-25-2017, 07:04 PM   #34
Birdman48
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Location: Southern Maryland
Distribution: ubuntu 14.04 LTS
Posts: 112

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
Well, after closing Yast, I tried a few Fn+F# combos and then when I hovered over the ethernet icon in taskbar I saw a wonderful site - several connection options and that wifi was enabled. However, I still cannot connect wireless. Guess my card needs configured. How? HTF do you USE NetworkManager???
 
Old 03-25-2017, 07:35 PM   #35
Ztcoracat
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,546
Blog Entries: 10

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
HTF do you USE NetworkManager???
Use of profanity is highly frowned upon here. You need to refrain from using it.

Generally with Network MGR you click on it and a drop down menu or a window opens and shows you all the networks in your area.

Click on your network and than it should prompt you to type in your passphrase that you.r ISP provided you with:-
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 03-25-2017, 10:10 PM   #36
Birdman48
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Location: Southern Maryland
Distribution: ubuntu 14.04 LTS
Posts: 112

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
Quote:
with Network MGR you click on it
where is it?
Must be an unsupported card. When I unplug the ethernet cord, it tries to connect, but can't. I've configured it to the best of my knowledge.

Last edited by Birdman48; 03-25-2017 at 10:14 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 03-26-2017, 03:15 PM   #37
Ztcoracat
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,546
Blog Entries: 10

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Birdman48 View Post
where is it?
Must be an unsupported card. When I unplug the ethernet cord, it tries to connect, but can't. I've configured it to the best of my knowledge.
I'm not running Open Suse so I don't know.
Depending on what DE you are using Network Mgr should be in the panel.

ASAIK Realtek is supported.

IF you went to Yast and tried to change to Network Mgr and that didn't work maybe TB0ne will know why. IF Network MGR is disabled and greyed out wait for TB0ne as I'm not sure how to enable it:- Sorry--

https://www.google.com/search?q=how+...utf-8&oe=utf-8

***OpenSUSE 13.2 - reached it's end of life on Jan 17th 2017***
https://en.opensuse.org/Lifetime

The current version of Open Suse is LEAP 42.3--
https://software.opensuse.org/develo...ease=developer

-::::-Running an unsupported version is most likely I'd think; as to the issue's your having.-::::-
 
Old 03-28-2017, 06:54 PM   #38
Birdman48
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Location: Southern Maryland
Distribution: ubuntu 14.04 LTS
Posts: 112

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
Network manager is working - I think that's how I enabled wireless. I was just expecting a dialog box like Yast.
When I try to use Yast (choosing "wicked" setup), all connection is lost - Ethernet too.
I think this is a firmware issue - I think I have drivers. but have no idea how to get the card working.
BTW - sorry about the profanity.
 
Old 03-28-2017, 07:09 PM   #39
Ztcoracat
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,546
Blog Entries: 10

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Birdman48 View Post
Network manager is working - I think that's how I enabled wireless. I was just expecting a dialog box like Yast.
When I try to use Yast (choosing "wicked" setup), all connection is lost - Ethernet too.
I think this is a firmware issue - I think I have drivers. but have no idea how to get the card working.
BTW - sorry about the profanity.
Glad to hear that you were able to get the Network Mgr working.

Thanks:-

I wonder if this has anything to do with which kernel is being used?
http://cateee.net/lkddb/web-lkddb/RTL8821AE.html

http://www.realtek.com.tw/Downloads/...4&DownTypeID=3

Last edited by Ztcoracat; 03-28-2017 at 07:20 PM.
 
Old 03-29-2017, 07:06 PM   #40
Birdman48
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Location: Southern Maryland
Distribution: ubuntu 14.04 LTS
Posts: 112

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 1
I'll be. The problem is solved! I just booted up then opened NetworkManager and then clicked on a wireless connection I had set up previously. That on didn't wok so I tried another one and low and behold it worked. I like that it works, but I'm a little disappointed that I don't know why.
Thanks Ztcoracat and everyone else who chimed in.
Now I will see if I have same luck with Ubuntu (on another partition).
I will monitor this thread in case anyone wants to clarify what happened.
 
Old 03-29-2017, 08:58 PM   #41
Ztcoracat
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,546
Blog Entries: 10

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Birdman48 View Post
I'll be. The problem is solved! I just booted up then opened NetworkManager and then clicked on a wireless connection I had set up previously. That on didn't wok so I tried another one and low and behold it worked. I like that it works, but I'm a little disappointed that I don't know why.
Thanks Ztcoracat and everyone else who chimed in.
Now I will see if I have same luck with Ubuntu (on another partition).
I will monitor this thread in case anyone wants to clarify what happened.
You're Welcome:-

Glad to hear it's working:-

Bet you are relieved:-

Don't forget to mark your thread SOLVED.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What wired keyboards & wireless mice work w/Linux Ubuntu? EJC-74 Linux - Hardware 5 06-01-2014 09:57 AM
Make Ubuntu Linux work as a wireless router--wireless Internet sharing erossmith Linux - General 6 04-21-2013 09:59 PM
[SOLVED] Windows7/Ubuntu 12.04 Dual Boot - Wireless Connection Does Not Work in Linux Riley381 Linux - Wireless Networking 2 09-13-2012 01:58 PM
New Linux/Ubuntu user: Problems with INTEL PRO/Wireless 3945ABG bodean Linux - Wireless Networking 4 05-07-2006 10:46 AM
New Linux/Ubuntu user: Problems with INTEL PRO/Wireless 3945ABG bodean Linux - Laptop and Netbook 1 05-03-2006 03:31 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration