LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2013, 12:49 AM   #1
ektron
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2013
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Mint 15 boots into grub2 command line


Hi - I have recently installed Mint 15 alongside Windows 7. I used easybcd to add a boot menu item for Mint. When I choose to boot Mint it just goes to the grub command line with a message about keywords. I think I am using grub2.
 
Old 10-14-2013, 08:53 AM   #2
yancek
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: PCLinux, Ubuntu, Slackware
Posts: 4,542

Rep: Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709
So your entry in EasyBCD does not function. What might that message be? Are Linux Mint and windows 7 the only operating systems on the computer? When you installed Mint, did you select to install Grub to its / (root) partition?
 
Old 10-14-2013, 10:20 AM   #3
haertig
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, LinuxMint, Slackware, SysrescueCD
Posts: 1,979

Rep: Reputation: 290Reputation: 290Reputation: 290
I am inferring from your post that Windows boots using GRUB, but Mint does not, with a keyword error. So that's just a simple error in the boot options for Mint probably. I don't know what EasyBCD is, but it sounds like it doesn't work very well.

Can you replace your text "a message about keywords" with something more specific, like the actual text of the error message? We might have a better chance of figuring out what is going on and maybe could provide some help.
 
Old 10-14-2013, 01:04 PM   #4
yancek
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: PCLinux, Ubuntu, Slackware
Posts: 4,542

Rep: Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709
EasyBCD is software written by the people at neosmart and has been available to boot Linux systems from a windows installation. It usually works pretty well but given the option, I would always choose Grub. From the original post, it appears the OP is using EasyBCD on windows to boot and then chainloading from that to the Mint Grub so if he didn't install Grub in the / of Mint, it obviously won't work. Without more details, it's just guessing.

You might google 'bootinfoscript' and go to the site and download and run it from Mint, post the output here as it will give a lot of pertinent information.

Last edited by yancek; 10-14-2013 at 01:06 PM.
 
Old 10-14-2013, 01:13 PM   #5
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 1,342

Rep: Reputation: 184Reputation: 184
If your using easybcd's grub installation you will need to create \boot\grub\menu.lst on your windows installation to get a boot menu.
 
Old 10-14-2013, 01:32 PM   #6
ektron
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2013
Posts: 3

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
here is the result from bootinfoscript:

Boot Info Script 0.61 [1 April 2012]


============================= Boot Info Summary: ===============================

=> Windows is installed in the MBR of /dev/sda.

sda1: __________________________________________________________________________

File system: ntfs
Boot sector type: Windows Vista/7: NTFS
Boot sector info: No errors found in the Boot Parameter Block.
Operating System:
Boot files: /bootmgr /Boot/BCD

sda2: __________________________________________________________________________

File system: ntfs
Boot sector type: Windows Vista/7: NTFS
Boot sector info: No errors found in the Boot Parameter Block.
Operating System: Windows 7
Boot files: /bootmgr /boot/BCD /Windows/System32/winload.exe

sda3: __________________________________________________________________________

File system: vfat
Boot sector type: Windows 7: FAT32
Boot sector info: No errors found in the Boot Parameter Block.
Operating System:
Boot files:

sda4: __________________________________________________________________________

File system: Extended Partition
Boot sector type: -
Boot sector info:

sda5: __________________________________________________________________________

File system: swap
Boot sector type: -
Boot sector info:

sda6: __________________________________________________________________________

File system: ext4
Boot sector type: -
Boot sector info:
Operating System: Linux Mint 15 Olivia
Boot files: /boot/grub/grub.cfg /etc/fstab

============================ Drive/Partition Info: =============================

Drive: sda _____________________________________________________________________

Disk /dev/sda: 750.2 GB, 750156374016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 91201 cylinders, total 1465149168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes

Partition Boot Start Sector End Sector # of Sectors Id System

/dev/sda1 * 2,048 409,599 407,552 7 NTFS / exFAT / HPFS
/dev/sda2 409,600 1,296,644,095 1,296,234,496 7 NTFS / exFAT / HPFS
/dev/sda3 1,464,936,448 1,465,145,343 208,896 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/sda4 1,296,646,142 1,464,936,447 168,290,306 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 1,448,388,608 1,464,936,447 16,547,840 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6 1,296,646,144 1,448,388,607 151,742,464 83 Linux


"blkid" output: ________________________________________________________________

Device UUID TYPE LABEL

/dev/loop0 squashfs
/dev/sda1 C2B26AD3B26ACC0B ntfs SYSTEM
/dev/sda2 0CAEC2D5AEC2B70C ntfs
/dev/sda3 2A8B-7645 vfat HP_TOOLS
/dev/sda5 c5aa1b31-9697-40a3-83c5-fe46ce85b3b0 swap
/dev/sda6 387dd14f-ca92-4a98-88a6-a771ad2ac132 ext4
/dev/sr0 iso9660 Linux Mint 15 Cinnamon 64-bit

================================ Mount points: =================================

Device Mount_Point Type Options

/dev/loop0 /rofs squashfs (ro,noatime)
/dev/sr0 /cdrom iso9660 (ro,noatime)


=========================== sda6/boot/grub/grub.cfg: ===========================

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
set have_grubenv=true
load_env
fi
set default="0"

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
save_env saved_entry
set prev_saved_entry=
save_env prev_saved_entry
set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
saved_entry="${chosen}"
save_env saved_entry
fi
}

function recordfail {
set recordfail=1
if [ -n "${have_grubenv}" ]; then if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then save_env recordfail; fi; fi
}

function load_video {
if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
insmod all_video
else
insmod efi_gop
insmod efi_uga
insmod ieee1275_fb
insmod vbe
insmod vga
insmod video_bochs
insmod video_cirrus
fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
font=unicode
else
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos6'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos6 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos6 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos6 387dd14f-ca92-4a98-88a6-a771ad2ac132
else
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 387dd14f-ca92-4a98-88a6-a771ad2ac132
fi
font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
set gfxmode=auto
load_video
insmod gfxterm
set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
set lang=en_US
insmod gettext
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
if [ "${recordfail}" = 1 ]; then
set timeout=-1
else
set timeout=10
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
set menu_color_normal=cyan/blue
set menu_color_highlight=white/blue
### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/06_mint_theme ###
set menu_color_normal=white/black
set menu_color_highlight=white/light-gray
### END /etc/grub.d/06_mint_theme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
function gfxmode {
set gfxpayload="$1"
if [ "$1" = "keep" ]; then
set vt_handoff=vt.handoff=7
else
set vt_handoff=
fi
}
if [ ${recordfail} != 1 ]; then
if [ -e ${prefix}/gfxblacklist.txt ]; then
if hwmatch ${prefix}/gfxblacklist.txt 3; then
if [ ${match} = 0 ]; then
set linux_gfx_mode=keep
else
set linux_gfx_mode=text
fi
else
set linux_gfx_mode=text
fi
else
set linux_gfx_mode=keep
fi
else
set linux_gfx_mode=text
fi
export linux_gfx_mode
if [ "$linux_gfx_mode" != "text" ]; then load_video; fi
menuentry 'Linux Mint 15 Cinnamon 64-bit, 3.8.0-19-generic (/dev/sda6)' --class linuxmint --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
recordfail
gfxmode $linux_gfx_mode
insmod gzio
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos6'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos6 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos6 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos6 387dd14f-ca92-4a98-88a6-a771ad2ac132
else
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 387dd14f-ca92-4a98-88a6-a771ad2ac132
fi
linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.8.0-19-generic root=UUID=387dd14f-ca92-4a98-88a6-a771ad2ac132 ro quiet splash $vt_handoff
initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.8.0-19-generic
}
menuentry 'Linux Mint 15 Cinnamon 64-bit, 3.8.0-19-generic (/dev/sda6) -- recovery mode' --class linuxmint --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
recordfail
insmod gzio
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos6'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos6 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos6 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos6 387dd14f-ca92-4a98-88a6-a771ad2ac132
else
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 387dd14f-ca92-4a98-88a6-a771ad2ac132
fi
echo 'Loading Linux 3.8.0-19-generic ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.8.0-19-generic root=UUID=387dd14f-ca92-4a98-88a6-a771ad2ac132 ro recovery nomodeset
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.8.0-19-generic
}
### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_lupin ###
### END /etc/grub.d/10_lupin ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry 'Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sda1)' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-chain-C2B26AD3B26ACC0B' {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ntfs
set root='hd0,msdos1'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1 C2B26AD3B26ACC0B
else
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root C2B26AD3B26ACC0B
fi
chainloader +1
}
menuentry 'Windows Recovery Environment (loader) (on /dev/sda2)' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-chain-0CAEC2D5AEC2B70C' {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ntfs
set root='hd0,msdos2'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos2 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos2 0CAEC2D5AEC2B70C
else
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0CAEC2D5AEC2B70C
fi
drivemap -s (hd0) ${root}
chainloader +1
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###
menuentry 'System setup' $menuentry_id_option 'uefi-firmware' {
fwsetup
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

=============================== sda6/etc/fstab: ================================

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
# / was on /dev/sda6 during installation
UUID=387dd14f-ca92-4a98-88a6-a771ad2ac132 / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=c5aa1b31-9697-40a3-83c5-fe46ce85b3b0 none swap sw 0 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

=================== sda6: Location of files loaded by Grub: ====================

GiB - GB File Fragment(s)

656.435676575 = 704.842440704 boot/grub/grub.cfg 1
619.404731750 = 665.080766464 boot/initrd.img-3.8.0-19-generic 1
628.427154541 = 674.768519168 boot/vmlinuz-3.8.0-19-generic 1
619.404731750 = 665.080766464 initrd.img 1
?? = ?? initrd.img.old 1
628.427154541 = 674.768519168 vmlinuz 1

=============================== StdErr Messages: ===============================

FIBMAP: Invalid argument
FIBMAP: Invalid argument
lots of these ......
No volume groups found
 
Old 10-14-2013, 06:05 PM   #7
yancek
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: PCLinux, Ubuntu, Slackware
Posts: 4,542

Rep: Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709
Quote:
If your using easybcd's grub installation you will need to create \boot\grub\menu.lst on your windows installation to get a boot menu.
Not really. EasyBCD is basically a GUI for windows bootloader which uses Grub4DOS or something similar. It's been a while since I've used it. The menu he is getting is the EasyBCD created menu with an option for Mint which doesn't boot, at least according to the initial post so he has his menu.

ektron: Could you reboot and make a note of the message 'about keywords' and be more specific. It might just be showing a list of commands available in Grub2.

The bootinfoscript shows the grub.cfg and /etc/fstab on sda6 where you have Mint but does not show core.img which should be there. If it was there and your EasyBCD entry was correct, it should boot with the entry in grub.cfg. You might try copying core.img from the install medium to the Mint partition, not sure that's the only problem.
 
Old 10-14-2013, 06:51 PM   #8
ektron
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2013
Posts: 3

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
thanks for working with me on this very much! I rebooted and I guess grub4dos is being used and the message was just the standard welcome to grub message. There weren't any specific messages for my computer. Where would I copy core.img to? Just the same spot it's in in the live cd?
 
Old 10-14-2013, 07:57 PM   #9
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 1,342

Rep: Reputation: 184Reputation: 184
Start up easybcd, select add new entry, select linux/bsd tab, at type select grub2, then click add entry. click on view settings and you should have three entries, windows, neogrub and neosmart linux. Reboot and select the neosmartlinux option and you should come up with the grub2 menu. I was wrong about the location for the menu.lst. It should be in \NST\menu.lst and you would have to create it manually to get a menu with the neogrub/grub4dos.
 
Old 10-14-2013, 09:13 PM   #10
yancek
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: PCLinux, Ubuntu, Slackware
Posts: 4,542

Rep: Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709Reputation: 709
The core.img file should be in /boot/grub so mount sda6 and copy it there.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu 12.04 boots into command line/ grub rescue 9sp7ky3 Ubuntu 1 02-23-2013 01:00 PM
Boots to command line only? AndeAnderson Mandriva 25 04-21-2007 10:58 PM
Install - boots cd to grub command line Optiker MEPIS 3 12-19-2006 02:27 PM
Mandriva boots up to command line ricemark20 Mandriva 4 07-16-2006 12:10 AM
MDK 10.0 now boots to a command line ZaZu Linux - Networking 2 09-01-2004 03:26 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration