LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 10-13-2013, 04:36 PM   #1
Tadaen
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 210

Rep: Reputation: 39
Minecraft on Stable (Wheezy)


Probably a dumb question but I can't find anything about this on google.

I have the latest Minecraft.jar file and when I try to open it it opens as an archive. So go to modify what it is opened with. Runtime isn't an option anywhere. JRE 6 was installed by default, I installed 7 as well. But neither is on the available programs list to launch it with. How to run Minecraft on Debian. I'm sure it is something simple I am missing.
 
Old 10-13-2013, 04:43 PM   #2
Tadaen
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 210

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 39
Just now figured out how to launch it manually from Open With in the dialog. But how do I set default to use runtime instead of archive or iced tea
 
Old 10-13-2013, 05:33 PM   #3
Firerat
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Distribution: Debian sid
Posts: 2,683

Rep: Reputation: 783Reputation: 783Reputation: 783Reputation: 783Reputation: 783Reputation: 783Reputation: 783
below is a script I used to use
I have commented out ( but not tested ) the ps3 controller bits I used.

essentially has two modes, online and offline

Minecraft.sh

You get the login screen

Minecraft.sh Steve
you play offline , playername Steve ( skips the normal login screen )



Code:
#!/bin/bash
# Minecraft.sh
JavaMem=1024
autokey=autokey-gtk
Minecraft=$HOME/.minecraft
#TODO add some magic to manage .minecraft, plus manage versions and mods

Sixad () {
sudo service bluetooth stop
sudo /etc/init.d/sixad start
}
# Sixaxis Deamon
#ps -e | grep -q sixad || Sixad
#pidof $autokey || coproc $autokey
### above commented out for LQ posting
# sixad is a driver for ps3 controller
# autokey monitors 'events' I use it to map mouse wheel events to the ps3 controller
# ( by mapping 'dead keys' F20 and F21 ) to keys on the PS3Controller.
# when autokey 'sees' these it sends a mouse wheel up/down

Online () {
# MineCraft
pidof minecraft.jar || \
    coproc java -Xmx${JavaMem}M \
                -Xms$(( ${JavaMem} / 2))M \
                -cp $Minecraft/minecraft.jar \
                 net.minecraft.LauncherFrame
}
Offline () {
pushd $Minecraft
   pidof minecraft.jar || \
    coproc java -Xmx${JavaMem}M -Xms$(( {JavaMem} / 2))M \
         -cp $Minecraft/bin/minecraft.jar:$Minecraft/bin/lwjgl.jar:\
             $Minecraft/bin/lwjgl_util.jar:\
             $Minecraft/bin/jinput.jar: \
         -Djava.library.path=$Minecraft/bin/natives net.minecraft.client.Minecraft $MCUSERNAME
popd
}
if [ "$#" != "0" ];
then
    #if [ "$1" == "-r" ];
    #then
        # sudo /etc/init.d/sixad stop
        # sudo /etc/init.d/sixad start
        # MCUSERNAME=$2
    #else
        MCUSERNAME=$1
    #fi # commented out for LQ post
        # sometimes sixad would 'die' ( if left inactive ) so was just a quick hack to restart it
    Offline
else
    Online
fi
save as ~/bin/Minecraft.sh
and in terminal
Code:
chmod 700 ~/bin/Minecraft.sh
Minecraft.sh
the chmod is only needed the once, in future just Minecraft.sh [PlayerName]

you might want to tweak JavaMem=1024 ( max 1GB memory, and starts with half (512MB) )
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: GOL MineCraft Weekly. Grab Issue 2 Today, Linux Minecraft server LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 08-04-2013 11:41 AM
[SOLVED] Debian ustable, and stable release of Wheezy kox444 Debian 17 05-16-2013 09:25 AM
[SOLVED] Wheezy (stable) DVD video jitters kel_en Debian 4 05-12-2013 03:10 PM
tar.gz of a gnome-panel more stable for debian stable :lol frenchn00b Debian 4 05-07-2008 10:32 AM
how can i upgrade my squid 2.5 stable 1 to stable 3 in RH9? debloxie Linux - Networking 0 05-12-2004 08:49 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration