LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Other *NIX Forums > Solaris / OpenSolaris
User Name
Password
Solaris / OpenSolaris This forum is for the discussion of Solaris, OpenSolaris, OpenIndiana, and illumos.
General Sun, SunOS and Sparc related questions also go here. Any Solaris fork or distribution is welcome.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-30-2017, 02:07 PM   #16
jlliagre
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Outside Paris
Distribution: Solaris 11.4, Oracle Linux, Mint, Debian/WSL
Posts: 9,789

Rep: Reputation: 492Reputation: 492Reputation: 492Reputation: 492Reputation: 492

Quote:
Originally Posted by abourke View Post
yes I think it must be 32bit. That explains my problem. I dont know how I missed that. I thought Oracle stopped distributing 32 bit Solaris.
You were actually right. Sun (now Oracle) stopped delivering 32 bit Solaris on SPARC with Solaris 10 and on x86 with Solaris 11 so you are definitely running a 64 bit OS. It is able to compile and run both 32 and 64 bit binaries.

Please note that there is a dedicated Solaris forum here on LinuxQuestions where I suggest you follow up your question.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-30-2017, 06:52 PM   #17
jlliagre
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Outside Paris
Distribution: Solaris 11.4, Oracle Linux, Mint, Debian/WSL
Posts: 9,789

Rep: Reputation: 492Reputation: 492Reputation: 492Reputation: 492Reputation: 492
Here is how to get a 64 bit murrine library on Solaris 11.3. No need to mess with /usr/local/bin:

Code:
# pkg install autoconf automake libtool gcc
Code:
$ export CFLAGS=-m64
$ export PATH=/usr/gnu/bin:$PATH
$ (./autogen.sh)
$ gmake
$ file ./.libs/libmurrine.so
./.libs/libmurrine.so:  ELF 64-bit LSB dynamic lib AMD64 Version 1, dynamically linked, not stripped, no debugging information available

Last edited by jlliagre; 07-31-2017 at 04:08 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-05-2017, 08:13 AM   #18
abourke
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 118

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 18
Yes that command is the Solaris equivalent to uname. It's definitely a 64bit OS. Solaris is no longer available in 32bit.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-05-2017, 10:02 AM   #19
abourke
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 118

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 18
Yes, success! That last compile command worked.
Thanks
 
Old 02-10-2018, 04:23 AM   #20
sobhsepid
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2018
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: 0
If I remember well you need to use a cross-compiler to be able to compile for a different target system.[removed URL]
 
  


Reply

Tags
64bit, theme engine



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Trying to build opencv picks up wrong library (32bit not 64bit) TarFile Slackware 15 04-26-2016 01:43 PM
Can't compile lufs on 64bit 144419855310001 Linux - Software 4 07-12-2006 09:24 AM
Using a 32bit library on a 64bit computer sniff Programming 1 07-04-2006 03:47 AM
How can I compile 64bit with g++, Enterprise 3, AMD64 ?? philblou Programming 1 08-04-2004 05:04 PM
howto compile bin with my library using all-static and shared linked standart library stpg Programming 4 06-29-2004 04:20 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Other *NIX Forums > Solaris / OpenSolaris

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration