LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 07-15-2014, 07:56 AM   #1
momari
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2014
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Redhat linux 5.9 very slow right after installtion on HP DL380 G4


Hi,

I've just installed Redhat Linux 5.9 on an HP ProLiant DL380 G4 server.The server has 4x15k 72GB disks configured as RAID 1+0, 2 CPUs and 6GB RAM. The installation went fine but just after it's fist start the server seems to be very slow. Everything is slow, for example opening a new terminal takes several minutes. I've tried to reboot with no luck. Don't know what could be wrong??!!

Best Regards,
Mohammad Alomari
 
Old 07-15-2014, 09:01 AM   #2
smallpond
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2011
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 1,604

Rep: Reputation: 386Reputation: 386Reputation: 386Reputation: 386
Something is wrong in the configuration. A couple of things to look for are DNS timing out, and stuff using IPv6 and then falling back to IPv4.
 
Old 07-15-2014, 09:48 AM   #3
TB0ne
Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, Slack,CentOS
Posts: 14,767

Rep: Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613
Quote:
Originally Posted by momari View Post
Hi,
I've just installed Redhat Linux 5.9 on an HP ProLiant DL380 G4 server.The server has 4x15k 72GB disks configured as RAID 1+0, 2 CPUs and 6GB RAM. The installation went fine but just after it's fist start the server seems to be very slow. Everything is slow, for example opening a new terminal takes several minutes. I've tried to reboot with no luck. Don't know what could be wrong??!!

Best Regards,
Mohammad Alomari
In my opinion, you should stop right where you are. You have JUST loaded RHEL 5.9? The version that's very old, and going to be TOTALLY UNSUPPORTED very soon, even with a paid-for, extended service contract? Why???? The latest RHEL is 7.0...if you're paying for Red Hat, and this is a new installation, then load the latest version. If you DON'T plan on paying for RHEL, then load CentOS 7.0.

RHEL without a support contract, is pointless. You WILL NOT get bugfixes, patches, updates, or security fixes...your server will be insecure and unstable from day one. And, if you're self-supporting your server, CentOS is 99.x% IDENTICAL to RHEL, but free. Load the latest versions of things, since patches/updates may have fixed whatever problems you're having already. At the very least, it will make things MUCH easier to fix. If you ARE paying RHEL for support, then you need to call them.
 
Old 07-15-2014, 04:11 PM   #4
jefro
Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 11,722

Rep: Reputation: 1445Reputation: 1445Reputation: 1445Reputation: 1445Reputation: 1445Reputation: 1445Reputation: 1445Reputation: 1445Reputation: 1445Reputation: 1445
Hardware raid or software raid on top of a hardware raid?

Enough ram? Enough swap? Can even create swap raid.


Some of those scsi drives don't like a cache settings as I recall. They have an internal cache and don't like any other caching.

I too agree that you should consider up to date server choice such as Centos, Scientific or OpenSuse/Suse. Debian or a BSD may prove useful too. Some folks like Ubuntu LTS.

Last edited by jefro; 07-15-2014 at 04:13 PM.
 
Old 07-16-2014, 02:52 AM   #5
momari
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2014
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Thanks all for you replies but,

1- It's not related to network because the slowness is there regardless connected locally or remotely to the server. anyway, IPV6 is disabled.

2- My server is old G4. That's why i can't use a higher version. In the future the server and the redhat release will be upgraded.

3- The RAID i'm using is hardware only; no software RAID configured. the server has 6GB RAM and 6GB Swap available.

Thanks,

Best Regards,
Mohammad Alomari
 
Old 07-16-2014, 10:23 AM   #6
TB0ne
Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, Slack,CentOS
Posts: 14,767

Rep: Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613Reputation: 2613
Quote:
Originally Posted by momari View Post
Thanks all for you replies but,
1- It's not related to network because the slowness is there regardless connected locally or remotely to the server. anyway, IPV6 is disabled.
When you say "connected locally", do you mean over the local NETWORK, or it's even slow on the console?
Quote:
2- My server is old G4. That's why i can't use a higher version. In the future the server and the redhat release will be upgraded.
Sorry, that's wrong...you can easily use the new RHEL on that server, and again, are you PAYING FOR RHEL???? If you're not, you are probably missing patches/updates that may alleviate your problem. Contact Red Hat support, and they can run a trace and analyze it for you to help. If you're NOT paying, then there may be nothing you can do, short of installing CentOS instead (which is 99.x% IDENTICAL to RHEL, but free).
Quote:
3- The RAID i'm using is hardware only; no software RAID configured. the server has 6GB RAM and 6GB Swap available.
Uhh....6GB of swap???? That may be your problem right there. There is NO need for such a large swap partition...at most, I'd put 2GB, and even that would be too large, in my opinion. I'd probably go for 1GB.

Reduce the size of your swap partition...since this is obviously a new installation (I don't think you've lived with it being slow for years now, have you???), either pay for the latest version of RHEL, or load the new version of CentOS, and adjust things accordingly.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP DL380 G3 Raid VERY slow... SLOW JoeyB Linux - Hardware 6 05-08-2009 12:49 PM
HP DL380 support Redhat Linux 9.0? christina Linux - Hardware 0 06-19-2006 03:51 AM
redhat enterprise linux 4 AS installtion problem superman16885 Red Hat 2 06-17-2006 11:28 AM
Proliant DL380 G3 Linux RedHat ES 3.0 - SuportPack 7.40 install failed ludek Linux - Enterprise 1 03-17-2006 12:42 AM
System freezes - HP DL380, OS is Linux REDHAT 8.0 kailash Linux - Hardware 1 06-01-2004 12:15 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration