LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop
User Name
Password
Linux - Desktop This forum is for the discussion of all Linux Software used in a desktop context.

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 06-08-2014, 03:31 PM   #1
deadlySniper
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Rye,NY
Distribution: Linux Mint
Posts: 33

Rep: Reputation: 0
Linux Mint - 3 Monitor Setup - 3rd Not working


I have 2 nvidia graphics cards, 1 GTX 670 and 1 GTC 550ti. The two monitors that are on the 670 are working fine but the 3rd one on the 550, is not. 2 monitors are running off of a DVI to HDMI adapter cable and the 3rd is HDMI. I have included a screenshot of the nvidia-settings and xorg.

Large: http://i.imgur.com/vK45k8v.png

xorg
Code:
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 331.20  (buildd@roseapple)  Mon Feb  3 15:07:22 UTC 2014


Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Samsung S27C570"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Samsung S27B350"
    HorizSync       0.0 - 0.0
    VertRefresh     0.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 670"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 550 Ti"
    BusID          "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "GPU-63a5ad13-9307-7a00-a4b2-9fa549caf6d5.DVI-I-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, GPU-63a5ad13-9307-7a00-a4b2-9fa549caf6d5.DVI-D-0: nvidia-auto-select +1920+0, GPU-439aadae-13a8-7cab-0f2e-4e0afbf0403c.DVI-I-3: nvidia-auto-select +3840+0"
# Removed Option "SLI" "off"
# Removed Option "BaseMosaic" "on"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "DVI-I-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, DVI-D-0: nvidia-auto-select +1920+0"
# Removed Option "SLI" "Off"
# Removed Option "BaseMosaic" "off"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "GPU-63a5ad13-9307-7a00-a4b2-9fa549caf6d5.DVI-I-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, GPU-63a5ad13-9307-7a00-a4b2-9fa549caf6d5.DVI-D-0: nvidia-auto-select +1920+0, GPU-439aadae-13a8-7cab-0f2e-4e0afbf0403c.DVI-I-3: nvidia-auto-select +3840+0"
# Removed Option "SLI" "off"
# Removed Option "BaseMosaic" "on"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "Stereo" "0"
    Option         "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-3"
    Option         "metamodes" "DVI-I-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, DVI-D-0: nvidia-auto-select +1920+0"
    Option         "SLI" "Off"
    Option         "MultiGPU" "Off"
    Option         "BaseMosaic" "off"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "Stereo" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    Option         "SLI" "Off"
    Option         "MultiGPU" "Off"
    Option         "BaseMosaic" "off"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
 
Old 06-09-2014, 09:47 PM   #2
deadlySniper
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Rye,NY
Distribution: Linux Mint
Posts: 33

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
500+ views and no replies.....
 
Old 06-10-2014, 01:03 AM   #3
EDDY1
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Location: Oakland,Ca
Distribution: wins7, Debian wheezy
Posts: 6,249

Rep: Reputation: 579Reputation: 579Reputation: 579Reputation: 579Reputation: 579Reputation: 579
You think that this line has anything to do with it?
Quote:
Option "MultiGPU" "Off"
 
Old 06-11-2014, 06:50 PM   #4
deadlySniper
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Rye,NY
Distribution: Linux Mint
Posts: 33

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by EDDY1 View Post
You think that this line has anything to do with it?
Doesn't seem to effect it. Once I do get it to work, it seems as if I get a new desktop but with mdm not running. If I disable the third monitor, its fine and I use the desktop
 
Old 06-12-2014, 08:54 PM   #5
allend
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Distribution: Slackware-current
Posts: 3,525

Rep: Reputation: 876Reputation: 876Reputation: 876Reputation: 876Reputation: 876Reputation: 876Reputation: 876
Code:
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Samsung S27B350"
    HorizSync       0.0 - 0.0
    VertRefresh     0.0
EndSection
That does not look right. I would try commenting out those lines.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 monitor setup w/ the 3rd monitor being plugged into a Windows XP box dlublink Linux - Desktop 4 08-13-2009 01:45 AM
3rd monitor with NV Kupo Linux - Software 4 10-10-2008 06:25 PM
Manual linux firmware setup for ipod 3rd generation 15 gig solidus-river Linux - General 3 04-11-2007 06:27 PM
Working Nvidia Quadro4 400NVS Setup (Quad Monitor) jsjohnst Linux - Software 2 06-30-2006 10:57 AM
Dual Screen / Monitor Setup? Not working stuartmunro Linux - Newbie 3 06-13-2005 02:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration