LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2014, 09:39 AM   #1
satimis
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,385

Rep: Reputation: 52
Networking question


Hi all,

About networking

PC1
-----
Host Debian 7.3 gnome desktop 64bit
VM pfSense
VM Ubuntu12.04
etc.
Oracle VirtualBox
2 NICs


PC2
------
Host Ubuntu12.04 desktop
VM Ubuntu 12.04
VM Debian 7.3
etc.
Oracle VirtualBox
1 NIC


Cable connection
ISP -> Modem -> PC1
ISP interface - pppoe


Configuration 1
===========
PC1
-----
Host - pppoe
VM pfsense
Adapter 1
NAT
Adapter 2
Internal Network
intnet

VM
Adapter 1
Internal Network
intnet

Host and VM can browse Internet. But I couldn't figure out how to connect PC2?

Besides in this connection, would it create double NATing the connection resulting in breaking some protocols? Also would it makes port forwarding more difficult?


Configuration 2
===========
PC1
-----
Host - not connecting ISP
VM pfsense running pppoe
Adapter 1
Bridge
eth0
Adapter 2
Internal Network
intnet

VM
Adapter 1
Internal Network
intnet

VM can browse Internet. But I couldn't figure out how to connect Host and PC2 making them browsing Internet?

Please help.

Thanks

Rgds
satimis

Last edited by satimis; 03-19-2014 at 09:41 AM.
 
Old 03-20-2014, 07:11 PM   #2
frankbell
Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Debian, Mageia, Mint
Posts: 7,435

Rep: Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406
It sounds as if you want to use PC1 as a router for PC2.

If that is correct, this might help. http://blog.noviantech.com/2010/12/2...in-15-minutes/
 
Old 03-20-2014, 11:27 PM   #3
satimis
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,385

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankbell View Post
It sounds as if you want to use PC1 as a router for PC2.

If that is correct, this might help. http://blog.noviantech.com/2010/12/2...in-15-minutes/
Hi,

Thanks for your advice and link.

I expect running pfSense on a VM of PC1 as vRouter for both PC1 and PC2. Now I can use the vRouter on VMs of PC1 but unable to figure out how to connect PC2 making use of the vRouter?

Rgds
satimis
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Networking Question CincinnatiKid Linux - General 12 12-18-2010 12:50 PM
Networking question satimis Linux - Networking 2 02-12-2006 07:24 PM
Networking Question MrJBot Linux - Newbie 1 10-19-2003 07:57 PM
A question about networking pc's philfighter Linux - General 6 05-19-2001 05:45 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration