Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware > Linux - Embedded & Single-board computer
User Name
Linux - Embedded & Single-board computer This forum is for the discussion of Linux on both embedded devices and single-board computers (such as the Raspberry Pi, BeagleBoard and PandaBoard). Discussions involving Arduino, plug computers and other micro-controller like devices are also welcome.


  Search this Thread
Old 12-05-2012, 05:43 PM   #1
LQ Newbie
Registered: Nov 2012
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Mounting jffs2 header gives superblock error

Hi, I have used firmware mod kit to unpack an img file which splits the file up. I end up with a header file which gives the following:
# binwalk rootfs.jffs2

12464 0x30B0 gzip compressed data, from Unix, last modified: Wed Nov 9 04:24:07 2011, max compression
497472 0x79740 JFFS2 filesystem data little endian, JFFS node length: 50794
I used dd to split out the jffs2 section:

# binwalk header.jffs2

485007 0x7668F JFFS2 filesystem data little endian, JFFS node length: 50794
I have tried mounting both files following as many instructions as I can find on google but always get the same error. This is what I get when using a script:
./ header.jffs2
mount: /tmp/mtdblock0: can't read superblock
This has been a learning curve for me, I have no idea what a superblock is so would really appreciate help or ideas.
Thanks in advance
Old 12-17-2012, 10:15 AM   #2
LQ 5k Club
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: OpenSuse, Fedora, Redhat, Debian
Posts: 5,396
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 905Reputation: 905Reputation: 905Reputation: 905Reputation: 905Reputation: 905Reputation: 905Reputation: 905
I don't know what is supposed to do or how it works. If it tries to mount the filesystem image on a loop device, then I can only suggest that the image is either corrupted or is not really what it is alleged to be. The jffs2 filesystem type is not always fully supported in many Linux distributions and may require an add-on package. To mount a jffs2 filesystem, your kernel will need to have built-in support, or (I think) can use a loadable module to support the jffs2 filesystem type. Not sure if the error message you cited implies anything about that; it might indicate that the kernel knows jffs2.

--- rod.
Old 12-19-2012, 07:21 PM   #3
LQ Newbie
Registered: Nov 2012
Posts: 3

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Many thanks for your thoughts. The script uses a loop device. I have tried several methods now and get the same error so you must be right that it is not jffs2 or corrupted.
It is from Teac who supply a linux source and build script so I am now trying that but get linux-gcc not found even after installing it.


firmware, header, mount

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mounting Drive Bad Superblock Error Wraith86 Linux - Server 1 06-16-2010 07:27 AM
error mounting ext3 filesystem... mount: /dev/hdd1: can't read superblock versaulis Linux - Software 5 11-26-2006 09:34 PM
Error mounting HFS+ volume: unable to find HFS+ superblock applewax Linux - General 3 05-31-2006 09:45 AM
"...bad superblock" error when mounting cdrom Trinity22 Linux - Hardware 4 09-19-2004 08:59 PM
trouble mounting drive, bad superblock error mattuc Linux - Hardware 3 05-27-2004 11:05 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.

Main Menu
Write for LQ is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration