LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - Installation
User Name
Password
Slackware - Installation This forum is for the discussion of installation issues with Slackware.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-29-2015, 03:15 PM   #76
ElfShotTheFood
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2014
Location: New Jersey
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 51

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0

i tried rotating the screen with slackware, the screen rotated,, but the touch screen input did not.. guess i should read ALL of the xrandr manpage.
 
Old 04-29-2015, 09:05 PM   #77
koroki
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2015
Location: Japan
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
What desktop are you using?
 
Old 05-02-2015, 02:43 PM   #78
ElfShotTheFood
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2014
Location: New Jersey
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 51

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
i like xfce, simple and easy on resources.

not sure if it was the slack current updates, or fixing the rpmb errors, or a little of both, but slackware setup ran without a hitch on the t100, with the 4.1 kernel. unlike previous attempts on all three baytrail devices that ended with disk full errors.


will be reinstalling the vivotab next. i tried a slackpkg -upgrade-all and the machine hung before it finished, i/o error afterwards that attempted to kill init. luckily i had a working install on the sd card to fall back to.
 
Old 05-05-2015, 05:48 PM   #79
ElfShotTheFood
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2014
Location: New Jersey
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 51

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
ok, todays update is that 32 bit slackware works just fine in uefi mode if you add the EFI/boot/bootia32.efi file to the slackware iso, or to the thumbdrive you copied all the files too.

i installed slackware32 on my t100taf because slack64 ran kinda slow, and i blame the 1 gb of ram. hopefully 32 runs better, less hassle with wine and other progs also. i did install it with the 4.1-rc2 kernel that i built on the vivotab as a 64 bit kernel, but it ran setup and booted just fine, the t100 is currently building a 32 bit kernel with the same .config file as the m80ta used.


ooh, it is done compiling the kernel.

the .config file is attached


edit; forgot the rpmb patch
Attached Files
File Type: txt dotconfig-4.1.0-rc2.txt (91.9 KB, 6 views)

Last edited by ElfShotTheFood; 05-05-2015 at 06:59 PM.
 
Old 05-05-2015, 05:59 PM   #80
Didier Spaier
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slackware{,64}-{14.1,current} on a Lenovo Thinkpad W520
Posts: 5,365

Rep: Reputation: 1490Reputation: 1490Reputation: 1490Reputation: 1490Reputation: 1490Reputation: 1490Reputation: 1490Reputation: 1490Reputation: 1490Reputation: 1490
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElfShotTheFood View Post
ok, todays update is that 32 bit slackware works just fine in uefi mode if you add the EFI/boot/bootia32.efi file to the slackware iso, or to the thumbdrive you copied all the files too.
I am happy you eventually got it working, congrats!

Will you write an How-To on SlackDocs?

Last edited by Didier Spaier; 05-05-2015 at 06:03 PM. Reason: One word changed.
 
Old 05-07-2015, 09:29 PM   #81
ElfShotTheFood
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2014
Location: New Jersey
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 51

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
there are still a few issues, i have had the stylus just plain quit working unexpectedly a few times, but it come back on each reboot, also, audio and bluetooth still don't work, even though modules get loaded.


the slackdocs howto is a great idea
 
Old 05-24-2015, 09:52 AM   #82
ElfShotTheFood
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2014
Location: New Jersey
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 51

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
there are still a lot of stability issues with this tablet. the pen and or the touch screen will just stop working unexpectedly. the wacom_i2c and atmel mxt touchscreen modules apparently do not load, or at least do not show up in lsmod, i have no idea why that is. i can insert them, but it says used by 0.

the wifi will not connect with 4.1-rc4, no idea why, i did not change any config options from rc3.

another issue is that i cannot seem to get xvkbd to come up when using kdm. anyone know how to accomplish this or know of a better on screen keyboard.

i cannot get ubuntu studio to successfully install on the other m80ta that i have, was curious if it had the same stability issues, but alas, it has other issues..... i did make a dd image of the original efi boot partition before i started messing with it, so i can restore either ones system if need be, and figure out the best way to get slackware's efi files installed correctly.


woot has the 64gb version of this tablet refurbished for $179
http://www.woot.com/offers/asus-vivo...ef=cnt_wp_19_4

Last edited by ElfShotTheFood; 05-24-2015 at 09:53 AM.
 
Old 05-25-2015, 02:01 AM   #83
koroki
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2015
Location: Japan
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I'm waiting for the final version of the 4.1. But I suppose that we need to wait until the 4.2 or 4.4 to have something useful.
 
Old 05-28-2015, 09:40 PM   #84
ElfShotTheFood
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2014
Location: New Jersey
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 51

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
haven't lost the stylus yet with 4.1-rc5, after an hour plus. wifi works again.




looking into an audio patch.

also slackware setup does not like the efi partition, and does not install elilo.

Last edited by ElfShotTheFood; 05-28-2015 at 09:42 PM.
 
Old 05-28-2015, 09:58 PM   #85
koroki
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2015
Location: Japan
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Is there anything about the audio?
 
Old 06-02-2015, 10:08 PM   #86
ElfShotTheFood
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2014
Location: New Jersey
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 51

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
audio doesnt work on a lot of these baytrail devices. this one is no different. i think the t100ta is the only one i know of that has working audio. i have the t100taf......


the stylus and/or touchscreen will still drop out on occasion. rc6 didn't seem to change anything.
 
Old 06-04-2015, 01:06 PM   #87
ElfShotTheFood
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2014
Location: New Jersey
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 51

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
i sent device info to the hid_multitouch guys. hopefully they can enable multitouch support. maybe that is why the touchscreen drops out, who knows at this point.
 
Old 06-05-2015, 12:31 AM   #88
koroki
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2015
Location: Japan
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
With gnome-shell, I have multitouch support, I thought. When I return at home I check it.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: Rugged Bay Trail COM offers soldered RAM LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 03-24-2014 10:53 PM
LXer: Mini COM Express module runs Linux on the Bay Trail LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 03-18-2014 08:00 AM
LXer: Intel Bay Trail NUC Linux Performance Preview LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 02-13-2014 04:00 AM
LXer: Bay Trail-I Mini-ITX boards go big on expansion LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 02-01-2014 04:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration