LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 07-05-2014, 10:30 AM   #1
moreroz
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2013
Posts: 26

Rep: Reputation: 0
open another file while you open a file on vim


I open a file on vim. Now I want to open another file. how I can do that?
For example I inter vim 1.c and now I have 1.c . but now I want to open 2.c. How I can do that? also how I can switch between them?
 
Old 07-05-2014, 12:59 PM   #2
jdkaye
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Location: Westgate-on-Sea, Kent, UK
Distribution: Debian Testing Amd64
Posts: 4,456

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
One way is to open another terminal and run vim on that one as well. You tell us nothing about the system you're running so I can't be any more specific than that.
jdk
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-05-2014, 01:21 PM   #3
moreroz
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2013
Posts: 26

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Thanks. I use ubuntu 14.04. and I want to have something like tabs.
 
Old 07-05-2014, 08:16 PM   #4
frankbell
Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Debian, Mageia, Mint
Posts: 7,416

Rep: Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406Reputation: 1406
This might help: http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/howto-s...ux-vim-editor/

I haven't done it; I'm working to improve my vim skills, but haven't gotten this far yet.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-06-2014, 12:04 AM   #5
jdkaye
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Location: Westgate-on-Sea, Kent, UK
Distribution: Debian Testing Amd64
Posts: 4,456

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
The KDE terminal called Konsole uses tabs. Just type vim in the terminal then open a new tab in the same terminal and type it again. Doesn't the Ubuntu DE terminal have a similar feature?
jdk
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-06-2014, 08:51 PM   #6
TobiSGD
Moderator
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Location: Hanover, Germany
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 15,417
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 3995Reputation: 3995Reputation: 3995Reputation: 3995Reputation: 3995Reputation: 3995Reputation: 3995Reputation: 3995Reputation: 3995Reputation: 3995Reputation: 3995
http://vim.wikia.com/wiki/Using_tab_pages
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply

Tags
vim


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
vim conditional keymap when a tex file is open RudraB Linux - General 1 07-01-2013 02:06 AM
Trying to edit a .spec file in vim (E212: Can't open files for writing) subharaj Linux - Software 1 02-14-2012 03:14 AM
open new file with vim/gvim RudraB Programming 1 01-11-2012 05:31 AM
VIM: Split open same file and edit only 1 window encore4444 Programming 8 05-14-2011 10:40 PM
Geting error loop QFike:getch: File not open QFile:atEnd: this file is not open badgerbox76 Linux - Newbie 6 01-07-2006 05:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration