LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 10-13-2013, 06:53 PM   #1
psavello
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2013
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
LinuxMint15 does not install on hard drive


LinuxMint15 (for Windows7/64-bit) downloaded to DVD and Linux runs perfectly when booted from the DVD. Installation process (to hard drive) goes through all steps as indicated in User's Manual -- geographic area, computer name/password, etc. At end of "installation," prompt is given to remove DVD and click "Enter." Computer shuts down to reboot but LinuxMint15 does not appear either in start-up menu nor does a folder appear in the Windows folder on C: drive. I previously had a copy of Linux Ubuntu but erased it from my hard drive. The Ubuntu prompt still appears, however, upon start up (to select between Windows 7 or Ubuntu.) Have tried to install LinuxMint15 three (3) times but no installation occurs. Should I try the 32-bit version? Or is there something special about installing on my 64-bit system?
 
Old 10-13-2013, 07:50 PM   #2
andrewthomas
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2010
Location: Chicago Metro
Distribution: Arch, Gentoo, Slackware
Posts: 1,690

Rep: Reputation: 307Reputation: 307Reputation: 307Reputation: 307
maybe a bad grub install? I would re-install grub from the LiveCD

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...ighlight=grub2
 
Old 10-13-2013, 08:30 PM   #3
frankbell
Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Mageia, Mint
Posts: 7,932

Rep: Reputation: 1495Reputation: 1495Reputation: 1495Reputation: 1495Reputation: 1495Reputation: 1495Reputation: 1495Reputation: 1495Reputation: 1495Reputation: 1495
Just to make sure I understand, Mint looks like it's installing properly, but doesn't seem to be there on reboot? I must say I have never encountered this and I did once successfully install Mint 64-bit to dual-boot with Win7--it went very smoothly.

To get started, two questions which are both sort of stabs in the dark:

Where did you install Grub?

From the Live CD, could you open a terminal and, as root, run the command

Code:
fdisk -l
to generate a listing of the partitions? Post the output here, being sure to surround it with "code" tags, which become available when you click the "Go Advanced" button to the right of the "Post Quick Reply" button at the bottom of the reply window.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard Drive Not Shown When Trying To Install To Hard Drive In Fedora 16 LinkSonicK Linux - Newbie 5 03-02-2012 05:45 PM
IDE DVD drive and SATA 3.0 hard drive not detected on Debian/Ubuntu install Byrnascus Linux - Hardware 7 01-21-2010 11:11 AM
Formated hard drive, runing ubuntu cd cant install, get fedora 11 to boot from hard d IanHarper Linux - Desktop 9 08-10-2009 10:09 PM
[SOLVED] Hardware crash,Repaired,New Install New Hard drive,how to access original Hard drive flatstan Linux - Hardware 7 07-21-2009 06:51 PM
New install on new hard drive messed up old install of old hard drive. AbsoluteMonkey Linux - General 26 01-10-2007 12:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration