LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook
User Name
Password
Linux - Laptop and Netbook Having a problem installing or configuring Linux on your laptop? Need help running Linux on your netbook? This forum is for you. This forum is for any topics relating to Linux and either traditional laptops or netbooks (such as the Asus EEE PC, Everex CloudBook or MSI Wind).

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 10-07-2013, 11:41 PM   #1
lmohammeed
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Posts: 38

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Cool wireless tab now function as bluetooth


Dear users;
I am a new user, my wireless was working on window7 (I am using nootbook). But, when I replaced the W7 with fedora 16, the wireless tab stop functioning. Instead it indicates bluetooth on when it is on, and I can't surf the web. Does that means wireless cannot work on linux? If no, then can anybody help.
Thanks in advanced.
 
Old 10-08-2013, 09:15 AM   #2
TB0ne
Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, Slack,CentOS
Posts: 14,230

Rep: Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmohammeed View Post
Dear users;
I am a new user, my wireless was working on window7 (I am using nootbook). But, when I replaced the W7 with fedora 16, the wireless tab stop functioning. Instead it indicates bluetooth on when it is on, and I can't surf the web. Does that means wireless cannot work on linux? If no, then can anybody help.
Thanks in advanced.
We can try to help, but you provide no details that would let us help you. We don't know what a "nootbook" is (assuming you mean notebook), but without knowing the model and hardware details, there's nothing we can tell you. Also, be aware that Fedora 16 is OLD...the latest is 19, with 20 out soon. Chances are a newer version of Fedora might 'just work' right out of the box. Try that first.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 10-08-2013, 10:56 AM   #3
lmohammeed
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Posts: 38

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Cool why my terminal/konsole starts with error msg?

Thanks TB0ne;

Yes, I mean notebook. Here are the model and hardware details.
Hp pavilion m6-1006TX
intel corei7-3612QM
Processor 2.1GH, 750GB Hard Drive, 409MB DDR3 SDRAM, Radeon Graphics.

Help me fix this problem first, if possible, before I think of replacing Fedora16 with Fedora19.
Thanking you in advanced.
 
Old 10-08-2013, 02:05 PM   #4
TB0ne
Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, Slack,CentOS
Posts: 14,230

Rep: Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmohammeed View Post
Thanks TB0ne;
Yes, I mean notebook. Here are the model and hardware details.
Hp pavilion m6-1006TX
intel corei7-3612QM
Processor 2.1GH, 750GB Hard Drive, 409MB DDR3 SDRAM, Radeon Graphics.

Help me fix this problem first, if possible, before I think of replacing Fedora16 with Fedora19.
No, the first thing you should be thinking about IS replacing Fedora 16 with 19. Fedora 16 is old, and only getting older. The lack of support for current hardware is only the tip of the iceberg. You will NOT be able to get some pieces of new software running easily (if at ALL), and have security/stability issues. Load Fedora 19, and you will at least have a CHANCE to fix your problem, providing just updating doesn't do so.

It appears to use an Intel chipset Wifi card...as said, the newer ones will likely 'just work' with Fedora 19. Look in your manual for what chipset your Wifi card has. You can TRY a toolset:
http://www.hpl.hp.com/personal/Jean_...nux/Tools.html

...but it may not compile/work correctly, and the ONLY thing you're going to wind up doing, is spending a lot of time and effort getting an old version of Linux to run. One that will be unstable/insecure, and make upgrading or working with ANYTHING in the future more difficult. Think about it...would you bother to load Windows 2003 on a brand new server?
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 10-13-2013, 12:21 PM   #5
lmohammeed
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Posts: 38

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Cool wireless tab now function as bluetooth

Thanks TB0ne
I have been away, If I want to replace F16 with F18, it's possible to upgrade F16 to F18?
Thanking you in advanced.
 
Old 10-13-2013, 12:25 PM   #6
TB0ne
Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, Slack,CentOS
Posts: 14,230

Rep: Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmohammeed View Post
Thanks TB0ne
I have been away, If I want to replace F16 with F18, it's possible to upgrade F16 to F18?
Again, the latest is Fedora 19...18 is STILL old. And going that many versions up in one upgrade (even if it IS possible, which is not likely), isn't a good idea. Back your data up, and do a fresh install.

Why are you stuck on Fedora 16? What is preventing you from loading the latest?
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 10-14-2013, 12:54 AM   #7
lmohammeed
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Posts: 38

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Cool wireless tab now function as bluetooth

Thanks TB0ne
I will do that. Honestly, beside being a new user, it is the task backing up and reistallation of some packages that make me cling to F16. I initially tried F18 but I could't install it.
With regards.
 
Old 10-14-2013, 07:37 AM   #8
TB0ne
Guru
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Distribution: SuSE, RedHat, Slack,CentOS
Posts: 14,230

Rep: Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474Reputation: 2474
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmohammeed View Post
Thanks TB0ne
I will do that. Honestly, beside being a new user, it is the task backing up and reistallation of some packages that make me cling to F16. I initially tried F18 but I could't install it.
With regards.
No matter WHAT operating system you're using, you should make backups, period. And unless the packages are VERY obscure, you can probably re-install them with a simple "yum" command, or just type in "make" to build them from source.

And we can try to help you get things installed if you're having problems, but you have to post more than "I couldn't install it"....without details, no one will be able to tell you anything.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is default-tab-width a emacs function? cola Linux - Newbie 1 04-22-2010 01:13 PM
enable autocomplete tab key function AIX 5.3 watcher69b AIX 2 03-10-2009 10:35 AM
ibuddie keyboard function tab in mandrake braungiobi Linux - Laptop and Netbook 5 12-05-2004 06:40 PM
Tab key function on tcsh shell and redhat 8.0 jeff_lim1974 Linux - General 0 06-21-2004 04:43 AM
changing the function of ctrl and tab kopite Slackware 1 11-26-2003 01:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration