Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Server
User Name
Linux - Server This forum is for the discussion of Linux Software used in a server related context.


  Search this Thread
Old 07-15-2013, 12:25 PM   #31
Senior Member
Registered: Dec 2005
Location: Florida
Distribution: CentOS/Fedora
Posts: 2,625

Rep: Reputation: 487Reputation: 487Reputation: 487Reputation: 487Reputation: 487

Originally Posted by in4you View Post

your question, brings me the curiosity, and the thirsty of knowledge. How does that work and how can that help me?
I mean : "cloning your gameserver MAC into the router, so that it can acquire the router's public ip?"
Its something related to programming? Cause i cannot access the source code, i would have to ask the DEV teams to do it.
Thanks in advance for your reply.

no, has nothing to do with the application and everything to do with the router.

ifconfig as root will display your MAC address of the NIC you are using eth0 most likely. take that MAC address and "clone" it in the router. not all routers are capable of this, but many are.
Old 07-16-2013, 08:52 AM   #32
LQ Newbie
Registered: Aug 2012
Location: Vienna
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
My router has the possibility to setup a DMZ which acts like a port forwarding from port 1 to port 65535 to a specified IP. As it is in my case the router supports it. The nice thing on it is you just specify the IP and the rest is configured by the router itself.

If you do not have that you can usually do it yourself. If you want all ports forwarded just specify the complete range instead of the ports individually. Most routers support the forwarding of a range.


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Ubuntu Or CentOS For A Home Server? Altiris Linux - Newbie 12 05-28-2013 06:36 PM
[SOLVED] SSH from the Internet to my Centos Linux box at home behind the router rewards Linux - Networking 9 05-13-2011 05:58 AM
been researching for a home server - Amahi , Ubunut or CentOS linux_sj Linux - Newbie 1 04-05-2010 02:00 PM
printer setup from Centos 5 to Vista home prem. on a headless centos pc ncsuapex Red Hat 6 03-10-2008 12:40 PM
Running CentOS at home and RHEL on the server JeffCT24 Red Hat 5 01-19-2008 07:13 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 AM.

Main Menu
Write for LQ is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration