LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Linux Deepin
User Name
Password
Linux Deepin This forum is for the discussion of Linux Deepin.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 02-15-2017, 07:27 PM   #1
heffo_j
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: Caboolture, Oz
Distribution: Linux-Lite, Deepin, Ubuntu
Posts: 155

Rep: Reputation: 16
Mouse button swap


How do I swap the mouse buttons in Deepin. I've tried a lot of the solutions offered on the net but they don't work for some reason. Many of them are old and therefore probably outdated.

Any clues specifically Debian 8 /Deepin would be appreciated

Thanks
 
Old 02-15-2017, 11:25 PM   #2
ferrari
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 1,942

Rep: Reputation: 291Reputation: 291Reputation: 291
This can usually be implemented within the desktop environment (eg KDE and Gnome both have graphical utilities for doing this).

You can also achieve the desired button swapping using xinput (which can be automated on login via autostart script). The basic idea described here...

http://xahlee.info/linux/linux_swap_mouse_buttons.html

or by creating a custom Xorg input config file. For example

http://linus.haxx.se/2013/03/07/mous...-in-xorg-conf/

The physical button numbering can be discovered using xev, and a button mapping assignment made accordingly.
 
Old 02-15-2017, 11:42 PM   #3
heffo_j
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: Caboolture, Oz
Distribution: Linux-Lite, Deepin, Ubuntu
Posts: 155

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 16
Thanks for you reply ferrari. I found out that there is an option in the Deepin Control Centre to swap the mouse buttons. I didn't realise this until I remembered the old Mouse and Touchpad settings in Ubuntu and tracked down the mouse settings tool that way. It was tucked away in the control centre.

Thank you for your trouble - all good now.
 
Old 02-16-2017, 12:45 AM   #4
ferrari
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 1,942

Rep: Reputation: 291Reputation: 291Reputation: 291
No problem. Deepin uses LXDE as its desktop environment, and as I mentioned in my previous reply most DEs have utilities for mouse configuration.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
swap button 2 and button 3 in xterm and terminal only? senjak Linux - Software 2 09-26-2009 11:34 PM
about xwindow. mouse left button and right button chuangsheng Programming 4 06-13-2009 12:34 AM
how should i enable the middle button of 3-button mouse ?? b0nd Slackware 1 07-17-2006 02:46 AM
3 button mouse (scroll button) Spyiish Slackware 24 07-23-2005 01:37 PM
middle mouse button is paste.. but what if i dont have a mid mouse button? kublador Linux - Newbie 4 09-02-2003 08:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration